Home » Newpages Blog » Permafrost

January 2023 eLitPak :: 10th Annual Permafrost Book Prize in Poetry

Screenshot of 10th annual Permafrost Book Prize flyer for January 2023 eLitPak
click image to open PDF

Deadline: March 15, 2023
The 10th Annual Permafrost Book Prize offers publication of a book length work of poetry, $1,000, and distribution through University of Alaska Press. Final judge: Aimee Nezhukumatathil. Deadline: March 15. Entry fee: $20. For complete guidelines, please visit our websiteView full flyer.

Don’t forget to subscribe to our newsletter to get first access to opportunities featured in our eLitPak! View the full January 2023 eLitPak.

Books :: 2015 Permafrost Prize Series Award

scavengers becky hagenstonBecky Hagenston brought home the 2015 Permafrost Prize Series Award with her story collection Scavengers, chosen from nearly 150 entries. As the winner, Hagenston saw her collection (her third) published by the University of Alaska Press this year in both paperback and digital editions.

From the publisher’s website:

These are the people and situations—where the familiar and bizarre intermix—that animate Becky Hagenston’s stories in Scavengers. From Mississippi to Arizona to Russia, characters find themselves faced with a choice: make sense of the past, or run from it. But Hagenston reminds us that even running can never be pure—so which parts of your past do you decide to hold on to?

An unforgettable read, Scavengers is now available.

Permafrost – Winter 2014


Permafrost is an unusually entertaining collection of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, book reviews, drama and art published in “the farthest north literary journal in the United States.” All of the works provide perspectives that are fresh and introduce a broad variety of creative talent that doesn’t often appear in the same place. If there’s one characteristic throughout the entire collection, it’s the detailed imagery.

Continue reading “Permafrost – Winter 2014”