is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

  • Image Image
  • Volume/Number/Issue/Date Volume 72 Number 2, Summer 2018

Essays by Ed Pavlić; David Oates, Marvin Bell & Christopher Merrill, Sebastian Matthews, and James Reston Jr.; fiction by Julia Elliott, A. Joachim Glage, Kent Nelson, Sina Kian, Lee Martin, and James Warner; poetry by Stephen Dunn, Emily Tuszynska, Julie Marie Wade, Moira Linehan, Ralph Burns, Alice Friman, Heather Altfeld, Brian Swann, Maurya Simon, Keith Ratzlaff; and art by Dustin Yellin. Also in this issue, find a selection of book reviews, and three interviews.

In this issue: Eric Wilson’s summer with the Eckart family; Samantha Libby beats back the specter of her childhood bullies; Francis-Noël Thomas takes a look behind Patrick Modiano’s Dora Bruder; Jane Breakell follows the trail of Anne Hutchinson; Phoebe Stone returns to the defining moments of her childhood; Laurence de Looze reports back from the land of wild boar and vin de noix; and  W. C. Morrow takes a seat at the table in a Paris café, 1900. Poetry by Tara Bray, Anders Carlson-Wee, Joanne Diaz, Alison C. Rollins, Karen Solie, Amber Flora Thomas, and more; fiction by Christine Sneed, Geeta Tewari, Naheed Patel, and others; nonfiction by W.C. Morrow, Phoebe Stone, Eric Wilson, and more.

  • Volume/Number/Issue/Date Number 115, Autumn 2018
  • Volume/Number/Issue/Date Volume 39 Number 1, Summer 2018
  • Volume/Number/Issue/Date Volume 41 Number 3, 2018

Queer. Featuring poetry by Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha. An interview with Casey Plett.

Baltimore Review 2018 is the (300+ page) print compilation of the poems, short stories, and creative nonfiction by the sixty-eight writers published in our Summer and Fall 2017 and Winter and Spring 2018 online issues. Among these works are the winners of the contests judged by Jane Satterfield (Monster theme) and Richard Peabody (Food theme), as well as a story by Elinam Agbo, which was awarded a PEN/Robert J. Dau Short Story Prize for Emerging Writers. Cover art by Baltimore artist Minás Konsolas.

  • Image Image
  • Volume/Number/Issue/Date Number 27 & 28, Spring/Summer 2018

This double-issue features artwork by Olivia Edvalson; new poems by Dana Alsamsam, Steve Bellin-Oka, Jennifer Jackson Berry,  Todd Dillard, Erika Goodrich, Krysten Hill, Amanda Huynh, Kyle J. Lopez, Brandon Melendez, Jessica Morey-Collins, Maya Phillips, Karisma Price, Jess Smith, Suzannah Russ Spaar; fiction by Alyse Bensel, Jen Corrigan, Will Hearn, Tennessee Hill, Brandon Thurman; nonfiction by Shir Kehila, Robert James Russell, Melissa Wiley, Angela Youngblood; and more.

In this issue: “Life/Story,” a novella by Emily Mitchell; fiction by Jeff Martin, Marilyn Manolakas, David Goguen, Barbara Klin Moss, Joanna Pearson, and more; nonfiction by Kristi Coulter, Josie Milliken, and Lisa Selin Davis; and poetry by Olena Kalytiak Davis, Virginia Konchan, Stuart Dybek, Heather Christle, Nancy Eimers, Amorak Huey, Alice Duggan, Stuart Dischell, and more.

  • Image Image
  • Volume/Number/Issue/Date Number 100, Fall 2018

100th Issue Special! Featuring our Poetry Contest & Fiction Contest Winners: Mandy Gutmann-Gonzalez in poetry and Caitlin Campbell in fiction; a craft interview with Jane Smiley; and cover art by Tran Nguyen. Fiction by Stephen Dixon, Dan Stolar, Weike Wang, Colin Fleming, George Williams, Sanjena Sathian; essays by Brandon Schrand, Chana Kim, Ariel Saramandi, and BJ Hollars; poetry by Hanif Abdurraqib, Carl Phillips, Albert Goldbarth, Karthik Purushothaman, Jessica Yuan, Elizabeth Tornes, Joannie Strangeland, Sean Shearer, Karla Morton, Joshua Aiken, and Cynthia X. Hua.


We welcome any/all Feedback.