is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Denise Hill

Written by

gulf-coast-summer-fall-2015The winner and honorable mentions of the 2014 Barthelme Prize are featured in the Summer/Fall 2015 issue of Gulf Coast:

2014 Barthelme Prize
Amy Hempel, Judge

Emma Bolden, "Gifted"

Honorable Mentions
Patty Yumi Cottrell, "No One Makes Plans"
Susan Lilley, "Delmonicos"

The Barthelme Prize for Short Prose is open to pieces of prose poetry, flash fiction, and micro-essays of 500 words or fewer. The contest awards its winner $1,000 and publication in the journal. Two honorable mentions will receive $250, and all entries will be considered for paid publication on the Gulf Coast website as Online Exclusives.

Written by
amy-clarkThe Chattahoochee Review Spring 2015 includes the winners of the Lamar York Prizes for story, judged by David James Poissant, and essay, judged by Marcia Aldrich. Each winner receives $1000 and publication. This year's recipients are Joel Wayne for "Brother's Keeper" (fiction) and Amy Clark (pictured) for "The Rocks" (nonfiction). A complete list of finalists can be found here.
Written by
BirkertsThe Sewanee Review Spring 2015 issue takes a close look at the print world with its theme "The Alchemy of Print." Essays include Sven Birkerts [pictured] on "The Little Magazine in the World of Big Data"; A. Banerjee on T. S. Eliot's editing career, "T.S. Eliot and the Criterion"; Robert Buffington on Allen Tate's time at the Sewanee Review; Stephen Miller on the life of the Partisan Review, "Memoirs of a New York Intellectual Manque"; David Heddendorf on "Reading that Isn't Reading"; John Maxwell Hamilton's "The Gospel on Book Theft"; "Price Control and the Publisher" by James L. W. West III; "Everything an Anchor" by Fred Chappell; "The Man Booker Prize for 2014" by Merritt Moseley; "Remembering Winston Churchill: The making of a Book" by Mel Livatino; and "The Cheever Misadventure Revisted" by Scott Donaldson.
Written by
brick-95Now this is cool: Brick 95 has a special feature "On Childhood Books" in which 17 writers reread and comment on books of their youth. Featured authors include Marina Endicott, Pico Iyer, Colum McCann, Kilby Smith-McGregor, Melora Wolff, Eugene McCabe, George Murray, William Kowalski, Frank Macdonald, Aga Maksimowska, Sarah Faber, John Goldbach, Eliza Robertson, Yasuko Thanh, Madeleine Thien, Lisa Moore, and Johanna Skibsrud. Some books you may recognize: Black Beauty, The Little Mermaid, Crime and Punishment, Stuart Little, The Hardy Boys, Peter Pan, and many more. Great concept. Great read. Brick includes some samples on their website here.
Written by

quiddity 8 1Quiddity, the international journal and public radio program enters into its eighth year with a couple notable changes. Managing Editor Jim Warner will be handing over the role to John McCarthy, and the partnership with Benedictine University at Springfield has come to close. Quiddity will continue with a new relationship with NPR member/PRI affiliate WUIS, Illinois Public Radio's hub-station. As Warner writes, "Sharing our contributors' work with the public-radio audience is a crucial element to our mission at Quiddity and we look forward to sharing more work with you."


Written by
mr 43Mississippi Review Summer 2015 is their "Prize Issue," so includes the "The Parents" by Charles Ramsay McCrory, winner of the fiction prize, and "Just Talking to Myself" by Sarah New, winner of the poetry prize. The remainder of the issue includes finalists for each of the prizes. A full list of authors can be found here.
Written by
The 2015-2016 annual issue of Paterson Literary Review generously features all the winners and honorable mentions of their 2014 Allen Ginsberg Poetry Award:

paterson 43FIRST PRIZE (shared)
Linda A. Cronin, Cedar Grove, NJ, "Because It's Mine"
Linda Hillringhouse, Englewood, NJ, "The Bristol Plaza Hotel, Wildwood"

Dante Di Stefano, Endwell, NY, "A Morning Prayer While Pumping Gas at the Gulf Gas Station"
Abby E. Murray, Endicott, NY, "A Poem for Ugly People"

THIRD PRIZE (shared)
Jason Allen, Binghamton, NY, "Pop"
Kenneth Ronkowitz, Cedar Grove, NJ, "That Summer Between"

A complete list with honorable mentions can be found here.
Written by
IR 37n1Indiana Review v37 n1 features 2014 Fiction Prize winner ("The Passeur" by E.E. Lyons) and finalist ("Come Go With Me" by Nora Bonner), 2014 1/2K Prize Winner ("The Girl Next Door to the Girl Next Door" by Amy Woolard), and, while not a contest winner, a cool "Special Folio: Graphic Memoir" featuring work by Bianca Stone, Douglas Karney, Diane Sorensen, Arewen Donahue, and Rowan Hisayo Buchanan.
Written by
YMR Spring 2015Yellow Medicine Review Spring 2015 features "Entering Language from Two Directions" a roundtable conversation with poets who work directly with/in threatened languages. Participants include LaTasha N. Nevada Diggs, Jacqueline Osherow, James Thomas Stevens, and Karenne Wood. Megan Snyder-Camp moderates the conversation and begins: "This is a conversation between poets who enter language form two directions: in addition to engaging language on the page in a variety of innovative ways, these poets also work as linguists, translators, and/or language activists...Grounded in our craft, our conversation covered both what these poets bring to the page and also what happens on the page, while also exploring historical and contemporary context."
Written by
vallum-surrenderThe Vallum Award for Poetry 2014 Contest Winners are featured in the newest issue.

1st place
"The Long Study" by Alexei Perry Cox

2nd place
"Last evening I stumbled" by Carla Barkman

Honorable mentions
"Apple to Apple" by Susan Hughson
"pass this note" by Domenico Capilongo

We welcome any/all Feedback.