Home » Newpages Blog » Vote: Million Writers Award 2011

Vote: Million Writers Award 2011

The storySouth Million Writers Award is for any fictional short story of at least a 1,000 words first published in an online publication during 2010. “Publication” means any magazine or journal with an editorial process (so self-published stories are not eligible). The deadline for nominations was March 15, 2011. The list of notable stories of the year was released on April 17, 2011, and the top ten stories were released on June 6.

NewPages Reviewer Henry Tonn offered his own take on the selections before they went to Sanford and two other judges to choose the final ten.

Voting on the top stories of the year will last for one month after the top ten stories are released, so the rest is up to you! Visit storySouth Million Writers Award page by July 6 to read and vote on the following top ten online stories of 2011:

“Hell Dogs” by Daphne Buter (FRiGG: A Magazine of Fiction and Poetry)
“Arvies” by Adam-Troy Castro (Lightspeed Magazine)
“The Green Book” by Amal El-Mohtar (Apex Magazine)
“Do You Have a Place for Me” by Roxane Gay (Spork Press)
“Here is David, the Greatest of Descendants” by Spencer Kealamakia (Anderbo)
“The Incorrupt Body of Carlo Busso” by Eric Maroney (Eclectica)
“Cancer Party” by Nicola Mason (Blackbird)
“Arthur Arellano” by Viet Thanh Nguyen (Narrative Magazine)
“Elegy for a Young Elk” by Hannu Rajaniemi (Subterranean Magazine)
“Most of Them Would Follow Wandering Fires” by Amber Sparks (Barrelhouse)

Spread the word!