Home » Newpages Blog » Tupelo Press 2011 First/Second Book Award Winner

Tupelo Press 2011 First/Second Book Award Winner

Tupelo Press has announced the winner plus runners-up and finalists of their 2011 First/Second Book Award as selected by D. A. Powell:

Lantern Puzzle by Ye Chun (叶春) of Columbus, Missouri [Photo Credit: Shawn Flanagan]

Malachi Black of Provincetown, Massachusetts for Storm Toward Morning
Juliette Rodeman of Columbia, Missouri for Reckless Fire

The Editors of Tupelo Press singled out for Honorable Mention Kathy Nilsson of Cambridge, Massachusetts for The Infant Scholar.

Other Distinguished Finalists:
Joseph Campana of Houston, Texas for Natural Selections (withdrew prior to judging, won the Iowa Prize)
J.L. Conrad of Madison, Wisconsin for Disaster Fruit
Rebecca Hazelton of Madison, Wisconsin for Fair Copy
Anna Journey of Fairfax, Virginia for Whisper to the Hive
Stacy Kidd of Stillwater, Oklahoma for Red House Over Yonder
David Roderick of Greensboro, North Carolina for Dear Suburb
Siobhán Scarry of Ridgewood, New Jersey for Pilgrimly
Stephanie Ellis Schlaifer of St. Louis, Missouri for Clarkston St. Polaroids
Eliot Khalil Wilson of Denver, Colorado for This Island of Dogs

This annual competition has historically been open to any poet writing in English who has not previously published a full-length collection of poetry. In 2011, in recognition of how difficult publishing a second book can be, Tupelo Press also accepted submissions of manuscripts from poets who have previously published one full-length book of poems.

Spread the word!