Home » Newpages Blog » Crazyhorse Prize Winners Announced

Crazyhorse Prize Winners Announced

The editors of Crazyhorse are pleased to announce the 2008 Crazyhorse Prize Winners (prize entry deadline of Dec. 20, 2007).

Crazyhorse Fiction Prize
Judged by Ha Jin

Fiction Winner: Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
for the story “Pertussis”

Fiction finalists: Roy Kesey, Marjorie Celona, Cathryn Alpert, Rachel Cassandra, Devon Code.

Lynda Hull Memorial Poetry Prize
Judged by Billy Collins

Poetry Winner: Jeff Walker
for the poem “Itchy Is As Scratchy Does”

Poetry finalists: Alexis Orgera, Jordan Windholz, Claire Millikin, Michael Robins, J. Mae Barizo, Elizabeth Marzoni, Xu Smith, Christopher Howell, Juliet Patterson, Tobey Kaplan.

The two prize winners will each receive $2,000 and the winning story and poem will be published in Crazyhorse Number 74, due out Nov. 1, 2008.

Spread the word!