Home » Newpages Blog » Awards :: Michigan Quarterly Review

Awards :: Michigan Quarterly Review

Michigan Quarterly Review congratulates Patrick O’Keefe, winner of the $1000 Lawrence Foundation Prize for the best short story in MQR in 2007: “Accidents” (Winter 2007 issue), and David Lehman, winner of the $1000 Laurence Goldstein Poetry Prize for the best poem published in MQR in 2007: “The Will to Live” (Spring 2007 issue).

Coming in MQR Spring 2008 a special issue on China. This special issue will contain writings about the territory of China – its people, its ways of thinking, its arts and media, its politics and social conditions. It will also examine the presence of China in the imagination and behaviors of the Chinese diaspora, especially in the U.S.

Nonfiction: Philip Beidler on the banishment of China during “America’s Great Reality Hiatus, 1948-1973”; Michael Byers on new volumes of fiction; Vivian Chin on Yiyun Li and Chinese American fiction, with an interview with Yiyun Li; Gloria Davies on moral emotions and Chinese thought; Liang Luo on the politics of androgyny in modern China; Jay Martin on the Shanghai underworld; Alex Ortolani on censorship in China; David Porter on binational understandings and misunderstandings between China and the U.S.; John Taylor on Franco-Chinese literature

Fiction: Marilyn Chin, Ha Jin, Shao Wang

Poetry: Tony Barnstone, Cai Qijiao, Victoria Chang, Michael Collins, Wing Tek Lum, Cathy Song, Fred Wah, Avra Wing, Yim Tan Wong, Ouyang Yu, Yu Guangzhong and new work by Gao Xingjian, winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2000

Graphics: A portfolio of Chinese photography curated and introduced by Mark Bessire

Spread the word!