Home » Newpages Blog » Awards :: Margaret Atwood

Awards :: Margaret Atwood

A neighbor recently loaned me her copy of Atwoods’s short stories, Moral Disorder, which I am slowly making my way through – one story a night before bed: my nightcap. It is a collection claimed to be as close to autobiography as Atwood has written in her fiction. More poignant: I find it to be a reminder of what it is I admire and appreciate in a “good story.” The book, BTW, with a 2006 copyright, and a first edition, is already a victim of “discard” from a public library. *sigh* That’s another blog story…

Canada’s Margaret Atwood Wins Spanish Prince of Asturias Prize for Literature
Excerpted from China View
Read more on CBCNews.ca

Canadian writer Margaret Atwood has won the 2008 Prince of Asturias Award for Letters, the jury said Wednesday in Oviedo, northern Spain.

“We decided to bestow the award on Margaret Atwood for her outstanding literary work that has explored different genres with acuteness and irony, and because she cleverly assumes the classic tradition, defends women’s dignity and denounces social unfairness,” the jury said.

The poet, novelist and literary critic was born in 1939 in Ottawa. She received international recognition with her novel “The Edible Woman” (1969), followed by “Surfacing” (1972-1973), “Lady Oracle” (1977), “Life Before Man” (1980), “Cat’s Eye” (1988) and “The Robber Bride” (1993).

Atwood is considered to be the greatest living Canadian writer and one of the most eminent voices in the current scene. She offers in her novels a politically committed, critical view of the world and contemporary society, while revealing extraordinary sensitivity in her copious poetic oeuvre, a genre which she cultivates with great skill. The plot of her novels usually focuses on the figure of women.

The literature award attracted 32 candidates from 24 countries this year. It is one of the eight that the Prince of Asturias Foundation gives out yearly since 1981. Other categories include scientific research, sports, arts and humanities. Each carries a 50,000-euro (77,00 U.S. dollars) cash stipend, a sculpture by Catalan sculptor Joan Miro, a diploma and an insignia.

Spread the word!