Home » Newpages Blog » Award :: FIELD Poetry Prize

Award :: FIELD Poetry Prize

Oberlin College Press is pleased to announce Dennis Hinrichsen of Lansing, Michigan as the winner of the twelfth annual FIELD Poetry Prize. His manuscript, Kurosawa’s Dog, was chosen from over 425 entries. It will be published in spring 2009.

Dennis Hinrichsen is the author of four previous collections of poetry, The Attraction of Heavenly Bodies, The Rain That Falls This Far, Detail from The Garden of Earthly Delights, and Cage of Water, as well as a chapbook, Message to Be Spoken into the Left Ear of God.

The FIELD Poetry Prize contest, open to all poets, is held annually each May. The winner receives $1,000 and the manuscript is published in the FIELD Poetry Series. FIELD: Contemporary Poetry and Poetics is published twice yearly and has featured the works of both well-known writers and new talents since 1969.

Spread the word!