Home » Newpages Blog » Foglifter Journal

Magazine Stand :: Foglifter Journal – 2023

Foglifter Journal 2023

Foglifter Journal continues the San Francisco Bay Area’s tradition of groundbreaking queer and trans writing and emphasizes publishing multi-marginalized voices. The 2023 annual issue features work by Ash Alpert, Sarah Aziz, Lorelei Bacht, Acie Clark, Summer Farah, Laurel Ophelia Faye, Dina Folgia, Aerik Francis, Katie Gene Friedman, Stefania Gomez, Claire Heinzerling, Alannah Hensley, S.K. Hisega, Erik(a) Jonah, Noam Keim, Nicole Kershner, Jerry Lieblich, Alison Lubar, Griffin Jing Martin, Sahil Mehta, Jennifer V. Nguyen, Clara Otto, Tasha Raella, Tyler Raso, Nadine Rodriguez, Sarah Roth, Lauren Russell, Katie Jean Shinkle, Ashish Kumar Singh, and A.A. Vincent.

To find more great reading, visit the NewPages Guide to Literary Magazines, the NewPages Big List of Literary Magazines, the NewPages Big List of Alternative Magazines, and the NewPages Guide to Publications for Young Writers. Subscribe to our weekly newsletter to stay up to date!

Magazine Stand :: Foglifter Journal

Foglifter Journal online literary magazine issue 7.2 2022 cover image

Created by and for LGBTQ+ writers and readers, Foglifter Journal aims to continue the San Francisco Bay Area’s tradition of groundbreaking queer and trans writing, with an emphasis on publishing those multi-marginalized (BIPOC, youth, elders, and people with disabilities). Publishing biannually in print with features published online on a rolling basis, the newest issue (7.2) features works by George Abraham, David Aloi, Andy Bandyopadhyay, Keally Cieslik, Lydia Elias, Elliott Gish, Ira Goga, Rigoberto González, Chinedu Gospel, Edward Gunawan, William Hawkins, Gina Hay, Nora Hikari, Mika Judge, Wenmimareba Klobah Collins, Zoe Adrien Lapa, Angelina Luo, D. Keali’i MacKenzie, Vuyelwa Maluleke, Avra Margariti, Sadie McCarney, Leslie McIntosh, Stephen S. Mills, Mallory Muratore, Chelsie Blair Nunn, Troy Oko, Claire Oleson, Molly M. Pearson, Hernan De La Cruz Ramos, Nnadi Samuel, Danie Shokoohi, Sun Tzu-ping, Alex Vigue, Syd Vinyard, Ashley Wagner, Cassandra Whitaker, Nicholas Wong, and Simone Zapata.

Their website also includes The Queer Syllabus, edited by Wesley O. Cohen and Marisa Siegel. This is a joint project with The Rumpus that allows writers to nominate works for a new canon of queer literature. “When we identify our roots, when we point to the work that shaped us as writers and as people, we demonstrate that our stories are timeless, essential, and important—and so are we.”