Home » Newpages Blog » Story Foundation Prize Winner 2022

Story Foundation Prize Winner 2022

“Stuck” by Laura Venita Green of New York, New York, is this year’s winner of the third annual Story Foundation Prize. Her story will be featured in the Story summer 2022 issue, which will be released in June.

Story Editor-in-Chief Michale Nye says this about the winning entry: “Green’s story is about a young woman named Tess, who is struggling with alcohol (to put it mildly) and babysitting two children for the weekend while their father is out of town. Then, a mysterious and peculiar Evangelical girl comes in from the woods. It gets stranger from there. It’s a rich, peculiar story that stood out for its evocative characters and wonderful tension throughout the narrative. A truly unforgettable story that I know you’re going to love reading.”

In addition, the Story staff selected seven finalists:

“Death to the Daylight People” by Josh Bell
“The best moments of our maldita lives” by Kathryn Campo Bowen
“Todd” by Matthew Farrell
“Codicil” by Matthew Lansburgh
“Mother’s Helper” by Margaret Meehan
“The Game of Life” by Eric Schlich
“Sisters” by Yiru Zhang

Spread the word!