is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Published January 14, 2010
AWP Intro Award Winners Rebecca Morgan Frank (Poetry - "Intellectual Property") and Kendall Sand (Fiction - "Bad Poetry") are published in the most recent issue of Hayden's Ferry Review (Fall/Winter 2009-2010).
Published December 30, 2009
Narrative Fall 2009 Story Contest Winners and Finalists

First Prize: Joe David Bellamy, "East House"

Second Prize: Dave Bausch, "Dim Lighting at the After Party"

Third Prize: Nate Haken, "Leach Pad"

David Abrams
Megan Mayhew Bergman
Han-ping Chin and William O’Daly
Abby Frucht
William Litton
Jerry Mathes
Mary Morrisey
Evan James Roskos
Heather Sellers
Olivia Shannon

The Winter 2010 Story Contest, with a $4,000 First Prize, a $1,500 Second Prize, a $500 Third Prize, and five finalists receiving $100 each. Open to fiction and nonfiction. Entry deadline: Wednesday, March 31, midnight, Pacific time.
Published December 19, 2009
Glimmer Train has just chosen the winning stories of their October Family Matters competition. This competition is held twice a year and is open to all writers for stories about family. Word count should not exceed 12,000. (All shorter lengths welcome.) The next Family Matters competition will be held in April. Glimmer Train’s monthly submission calendar may be viewed here.

First place: Cary Holladay [pictured] of Memphis, TN, wins $1200 for “The Flood.” Her story will be published in the Spring 2011 issue of Glimmer Train Stories, out in February 2010.

Second place: Scott Tucker of Seattle, WA, wins $500 for “Where the Boys Went Swimming.”

Third place: Megan Mayhew Bergman of Raleigh, NC, wins $300 for “The Two Thousand Dollar Sock.”

A PDF of the Top 25 winners can be found here.

Also: Fiction Open competition (deadline soon approaching! January 2)

Glimmer Train hosts this competition quarterly, and first place is $2000 plus publication in the journal. It’s open to all writers, no theme restrictions, and the word count range is 2000-20,000. Click here for complete guidelines.
Published December 14, 2009
Black Lawrence Press has announced Brad Ricca the winner for the 2009 St. Lawrence Book Award for his poetry manuscript American Mastodon. Ricca receives $1,000 and publication. American Mastodon will be available from Black Lawrence Press in late 2011.

In addition to naming the winner of the 2009 St. Lawrence Book Award, Black Lawrence Press editors have chosen Finalist Eric Gamalinda’s short story collection People Are Strange for publication from Black Lawrence Press in late 2011.

Sean Bernard
Seth Borgen
Valerie Finn
Amy Havel
Tyrone Jaeger
Marylee MacDonald
Marjorie Manwaring
Andrew McIntyre
Edward Mullany
Mike Schiavone
Ira Sukrungruang
Steven Tarlow

Joshua Butts
Carrie Conners
Tracy DeBrincat
Christine DeSimone
Sarah Wetzel Fishman
Jeremy Griffin
Tina May Hall
Karen Holman
Steve Kistulentz
Mary McCray
Jennifer Moses
Carrie Oeding
Published December 12, 2009
Narrative Magazine has announced the winners and finalists of the 30 Below Contest (all entrants are between the ages of 18-30):

First Prize: Montana Ray "The Blessing"
Second Prize: Greg Brown "Smokejumpers"
Third Prize: Christa Hillstrom "Depth of Field"

Carrie Braman
Ashley Kunsa
Kate Levin
Michael Mitnick
Golan Moskowitz
Richard Sonnenmoser
Diana Spechler
Jackie Thomas-Kennedy
Emily Van Kley
Sara Zandieh
Published December 04, 2009
A Room of Her Own Foundation's 1st To the Lighthouse Poetry Publication Prize Winner was Genevieve Kaplan's manuscript, In the Icehouse. Her book of poetry will be published by Red Hen Press in the fall of 2010.

2nd Annual To the Lighthouse Poetry Publication Prize
Postmark Deadline: August 31, 2010
Judge: Alice Quinn

Fall 2009 Orlando Prize Winners

Orlando Poetry Prize Winner
Mary Ellen Sanger, "Secrets of a Wooden Saint in a Church in Jalcomulco"

Orlando Nonfiction Prize Winner
Patricia Henritze, "Learning to Talk"

Orlando Sudden Fiction Prize Winner
Alyssa Cooper, "Tin Man Tick-Tock"

Orlando Short Fiction Prize Winner
Lyn Hawks, "The Flat and Weightless Tang-Filled Future"

Orlando in 2010, New Deadlines and Information
Orlando Nonfiction & Short Fiction Deadline — 1/31/10
Orlando Poetry & Sudden Fiction Deadline — 2/28/10
New dates and online forms will be available the week of 11/16/09
Published December 03, 2009
The newest issue of Open Minds Quarterly includes poems from the honorable mentions from their seventh annual BrainStorm Poetry Contest: Tracy King, David O'Neal, Michale Conner, Diane Klammer, Benjamin Hawkes, and ky perraun. Open Minds Quaterly is a publication of The Writer's Circle, a project of Northern Initiative for Social Action. NISA is "built on the premise that consumer/survivors of mental health services are intelligent, creative, and can make a valuable contribution to society if given the opportunity to do so."
Published November 30, 2009
Every year, Fifth Wednesday Journal reviews the work of contributing artists to make selections for the Editor's Prize in short fiction, poetry, and photography. The fall 2009 issue includes the editors comments on their selections. This year, Ann Leahy selected the work of Ray Gonzalez ("Canto" fall 2008), with a special note of recognition to Rebecca B. Rank and Mary Biddinger. Andrew Coburn's fiction ("Hearty Women" spring 2009) was selected by Keith Gandal, and Barbara DeGenevieve selected the photography of Harry Wilson ("Classroom Turkey" fall 2008), with an honorable mention to Leigh Wells.
Published November 27, 2009
Leslie Maslow of Brooklyn, New York is Open City's 2009 RRofihe Trophy Short Story Contest winner for her story "Mum" - which will appear in Open City #28.

Corey Campbell
Avi Kramer
Adam Gallari
Amy Halloran
Nick Kocz
Renee Hahn

Guidelines for the 2010 RRofihe Trophy For an unpublished short story (up to 5,000), judged by Rick Rofihe. Deadline October 15, 2010.
Published November 23, 2009
Narrative Magazine has announced the winners of their first annual poetry contest:

Alice Jones, First Place
Anne Marie Rooney, Second Place
Tomas Q. Morin, Third Place

Mermer Blakeslee
Scott Chellener
Peter Filkins
Luisa A. Igloria
Shane Lake

We welcome any/all Feedback.