is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Published April 08, 2010
Naugatuck River Review - a journal of narrative poetry - Issue 3 Winter 2010 is the all-contest-entry issue, featuring a piece by Contest Judge Lesl
Published April 07, 2010
Grain's new issue includes their new byline: The journal of eclectic writing. Grain's Winter 2010 issue, TROPHY, features the winners of Grain's 21st Annual Writing Contest, judged by Tonja Gunvaldsen Klaassen (Poetry) and Elise Levine (Fiction). All seven winning entries are included, most notably the 1st and 2nd Prize fiction - Matthew Heiti and Marilyn Gear Pilling - and poetry winners - Danny Jacobs and Medrie Purdham.

Full details for Grain's 2010 contest are available on their website and are published in the back of TROPHY.
Published April 06, 2010
The newest issue of Southeast Review (v28n1) includes the winning entries from their 2009 writing contests — Dina Hardy in the Poetry category, Martin Cloutier in the Short Short category, and Heather Bryant in the Narrative Nonfiction category as well as finalists for each.
Published April 05, 2010
Richard P. Krepski's prose contest winning essay "Center of the Universe" is published in the newest issue of Tiferet: A Journal of Spiritual Literature (Issue 13). "It is based on a chapter in Mr. Krepski's forthcoming book, Alchemical Gold - Exploring Substance to Realize Spirit, targeted for publication later in 2010."
Published April 01, 2010
The Alimentum Poetry Contest winning poems will be featured in the Summer 2010 issue. As selected by Contest Final Judge Dorianne Laux:

Winner "Substitutes" by Maya Stein
1st Runner-up "Before I tell him I am leaving" by Salita S. Bryant
2nd Runner-up "Water of Life" by Catherine Freeling

Our Poetry Contest Finalists:
"Rabanada" by Margaret K. Menges
"Cutlet" by Rhona McAdam
"Soup and Bread" by Mary McGinnis
"Ropa Vieja" & "Wine" by Ricardo Pau-Llosa
Published March 29, 2010
Bloodroot Literary Magazine Volume 3 (2010) features works by the winners and honorable mentions of their 2010 contest:

First Prize: David Sullivan - "Angel Jibril, the Messenger"
Second Prize: Danny Dover - "Yukon Territory"
Third Prize: Regina Murray Brault - "Genealogy"

Honorable Mentions (in alphabetical order)
Scott Atkins - "Arrival"
Eileen Malone - "What's All This Crap About Closure?"
Ivy Schweitzer - "Elegy for a Miniskirt (Fawn, Suede)"
Published March 19, 2010
The Allegheny Review, publishing undergraduate poetry, artwork and prose since 1983, established the Allegheny Review awards in poetry and prose eight years ago. Mark Doty selected Jacques Rancourt (University of Maine) to receive this year's poetry award, and Paul Lisicky selected prose winner Marilyn Miller (University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown). Both winning authors' works can be found in the newest edition of The Allegheny Review (v27) along with honorable mention poet Jes Gearing (Emory University).
Published March 12, 2010
The Winter 2010 issue of The MacGuffin from Schoolcraft College includes the 14th National Poet Hunt Winner, Helen Marie Casey as well as honorable mention, Carol Gilbertson, as selected by Poet Hunt Judge Thomas Lynch.
Published March 11, 2010
Just in: The Spoon River Review Summer/Fall 2009 issue features the The Spoon River Poetry Review’s Editors’ Prize as judged by Claudia Emerson: First Place Rebecca Warren; Runner-up Hanna Marta Norris and Stephanie Coyne DeGhett; and Honorable Mention: Michael Meyerhofer, Lusia Slomkowska, Jared Walls, Rebecca Warren, and Jeff Miles.
Published March 04, 2010
Winner of the 2010 Perugia Press Prize for a first or second book of poetry by a woman is Each Crumbling House by Melody S. Gee of St. Louis, Missouri. Each Crumbling House is due to be released in September 2010.

The Perugia Press Prize is given annually for a first or second unpublished poetry collection by a woman. The prize is $1000 and publication by Perugia Press.

Finalists: Susanna Childress, Entering the House of Awe; Danielle Cadena Deulen, Lovely Asunder

Semi-Finalists: Shannon Amidon, The Garden After; Joanne Diaz, Violin; Emari DiGiorgio, Hot Bullets; Mary Kaiser, The Paradiso Shuffle; Christina Lovin, A Stirring in the Dark; Beth M. Martinelli, A Quiet Room; Barbara Paparazzo, The Corridor of Lost Steps; Anna Ross, In the Room Next Door; Bethany Schultz Hurst, Birds, Disappearing; Joan I. Siegel, Soundings; Eva Skrande, My Mother’s Cuba; Annette Spaulding-Convy, In Broken Latin

We welcome any/all Feedback.