is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Published January 27, 2016
black maria aracelis grimayIn April 2016, Aracelis Girmay’s The Black Maria will start hitting bookshelves. Winner of a 2015 Whiting Award for Poetry, The Black Maria “investigates African diasporic histories, the consequences of racism within American culture, and the question of human identity.”

The Whiting Award Selection Committee says the collection is “always in service of a moral vision, a deep concern for who we are, who we have been.”

Copies of The Black Maria can be pre-ordered from BOA Editions LTD website.

[quotes from BOA Editions LTD website] 
Published January 27, 2016
beautiful zero jennifer willoughbyThe winner of Milkweed Editions’s 2015 Lindquist & Vennum Prize for Poetry, Beautiful Zero by Jennifer Willoughby, is now available. Chosen by Dana Levin, this debut collection is filled with wit and humor and promises relief from the seriousness of real life. Levin likens the collection to “a buoy in the sea at bottom, a life preserver, a raft.”

Those needing a pick-me-up in the middle of these dark winter months can find copies of Beautiful Zero at the Milkweed Editions website.
Published January 27, 2016
loss of all lost things amina gautierDue out at the beginning of February is the winner of the Elixir Press Award in Fiction, The Loss of All Lost Things by Amina Gautier.

The collection explores moments of loss and yearning in its fifteen short stories that, according to contest judge Phong Nguyen, “have you by the throat [ . . . ].”

Readers can have a small peek inside The Loss of All Lost Things and order a copy at the SPD website.
Published January 27, 2016
gabe herronGlimmer Train has just chosen the winning stories for their November Short Story Award for New Writers. This competition is held three times a year and is open to all writers whose fiction has not appeared in a print publication with a circulation greater than 5000. The next Short Story Award competition is open now: Short Story Award for New Writers. Glimmer Train’s monthly submission calendar may be viewed here.

1st place goes to Gabe Herron [pictured] of Scappoose, OR, who wins $1500 for “Suzette.” His story will be published in Issue 99 of Glimmer Train Stories.

2nd place goes to Sam Miller Khaikin of Brooklyn, NY. She wins $500 for “A Working Theory of Stellar Collapse.”

3rd place goes to Cady Vishniac of Columbus, OH. She wins $300 for “Move.”

A PDF of the Top 25 winners can be found here.
Published January 26, 2016
shasta grantThe newest issue of Kenyon Review features the winners of their eighth annual Short Fiction Contest:

First Prize: Shasta Grant [pictured], “Most Likely To”
Runner-up: Rob Howell, “Mars or Elsewhere”
Runner-up: Courtney Sender, “Black Harness”

Judge Ann Patchett writes:
In “Most Likely To,” Shasta Grant delivers a full narrative arc in four pages. Her characters experienced loss and were changed by it, a pretty remarkable feat to pull off in such a small space. Perfectly chosen details made both the characters and the setting memorable. This was the story that stayed with me.
Robert Howell gives us a completely delightful flight of imagination in “Mars or Elsewhere”. In dealing with a lover’s fantasy of what could happen were the couple to run off together, he creates a wild and atmospheric riff on possibility that read like jazz.
Courtney Sender matches the light topic of youthful lost love with the extreme heft of the Holocaust in “Black Harness” and comes up with a miraculous balance between the personal and the universal. I never could have imagined where this story was going and I was pleased by the surprise.
The winner and runners-up can also be read online here.
Published January 22, 2016
baltimore review contest blog postBaltimore Review announces the winners of the Baltimore Review Winter 2016 Contest. The theme for this contest was "Health," and the final judge was Joanna Pearson, MD.

First Place
Heidi Czerwiec, “Nervous Systems”

Second Place
Christine Stewart-Nuñez, “Art of the Body”

Third Place
Raquel Fontanilla, “Souvenir from Where You’ve Been”

Work by the winners is included in the Winter 2016 issue, available at the Baltimore Review website, and submissions for the journal re-open February 1.
Published January 14, 2016
Winners and select finalists and runner-up of the Indiana Review Poetry and (inaugural) Nonfiction Prizes  are published in the most recent issue (Vol 37 No 2):

indiana reviewPoetry Judge Eduardo Corral

Caitlin Scarano, “Between the Bloodhounds and My Shrinking Mouth”

Runner Up
Jennifer Givhan, “Town of Foolish Things”

LA Johnson, “Split-Level”
Caitlin Scarano, “To the City With Her Skull Wind”

A complete list of finalists can be found here.

Nonfiction Judge Kiese Laymon

John Murillo III, “Black (in) Time”

A complete list of finalists can be found here.

[Cover art: "Desire Is the Root of All Suffering" by Deedee Cheriel]

Published January 13, 2016
last words of the holy ghost matt cashionIn November 2015, the winners of the Katherine Anne Porter Prize in Short Fiction and the 2014 Noemi Press Book Award for Fiction were published.

Last Words of the Holy Ghost by Matt Cashion placed first in the Katherine Anne Porter Prize in Short Fiction through the University of North Texas Press. Chosen by Lee K. Abbott, the collection of 12 Southern Gothic short stories was released November 15. This is Cashion’s first short story collection.

Nate Liederbach’s short story collection Beasts You’ll Never See, winner of the 2014 Noemi Press Book Award for Fiction, “seeks to unearth the inevitable paradoxes of comedy and tragedy lurking under the skin of every human relationship, and it does so while also challenging its reader to question the emotional mechanisms that underpin conventional narratives.”

[Quote from SPD website.]

Published January 11, 2016
able museThe winter 2015 issue of Able Muse A Review of Poetry, Prose & Art features the winners of their annual Write Prize for Fiction and Poetry. The Fiction Winner as selected by Final Judge Eugenia Kim is Andrea Witzke Slot's "After Reading the News Story of a Woman Who Attempted to Carry Her Dead Baby onto an Airplane." The Poetry Winner as selected by H.L. Hix is Elise Hempel's "Cathedral Peppersauce." Two Poetry Honorable Mentions were also included in the publication, "Jockey" by Elise Hempel and "On Watching a Cascade Commercial" by Jeanne Wagner.

A full list of honorable mentions and finalists as well as information about this annual prize can be found here.

[And that gorgeous cover image is "Audience" by Patrick McDonald.]

Published January 07, 2016
ninth letterThe Ninth Letter 2015 Literary Award Winners are available for reading in the newest issue (Vol 12 No 2).

Poetry Winner
Judge: Kathy Fagan
Corey Van Landingham, "In the Year of No Sleep"

Fiction Winner
Judge: Jac Jemc
Kristen N. Arnett, "See also: A history of glassmaking"

Creative Nonfiction Winner
Judge: Matthew Gavin Frank
Michael Gracey, "My Own Good Daemon"

A full list of runners up and information about this annual contest can be found here.

We welcome any/all Feedback.