is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Published January 19, 2017
Able Muse #22 (Winter 2016) features the following winning entries and runners up from their 2016 writing contests. Full shortlists and judges comments can be read here.

victoria mlyniecAble Muse Write Prize for Fiction
Final Judge Stuart Dybeck
Winner: "Passerthrough" by Victoria Mlyniec

Able Muse Write Prize for Poetry
Final Judge Patricia Smith
Winner: "Shamrock" by Scott Ruescher
Runner-up: "From the School of Hard Knocks" by Fran Markover
Honorable Mention: "Not" by Colleen Carias

March 15, 2017 is the deadline for the 2017 contest with Judges Annie Finch (poetry) and Jill Alexander Essbaum (fiction).
Published January 05, 2017
Mudish 19 features the winner and honorable mentions for their 12th Mudfish Poetry Prize judged by Edward Hirsch:

“Wallis-Wallace” by Myra Malkin

1st Honorable Mention
“Letteromancy” by Mark Wagenaar

2nd Honorable Mention
“Visiting Emily” by Michael Miller

A full list of finalists can be found here.
Published January 02, 2017
The 2016 Gult Coast Prize winners can be found in the Winter/Spring 2017 issue of Gulf Coast:

cassidy thompsonFiction selected by selected by Ayana Mathis
"Destiny" by Mike Alberti

Nonfiction (Essay) selected by David Shields
"Witness Trees" by Cassidy Norvell Thompson

Poetry selected by Rick Barot
"Calisthenics" by Brandon Rushton

Winning author bios and a full list of honorable mentions can be read here.
Published December 28, 2016
Glimmer Train has just chosen the winning stories for their September/October Short Story Award for New Writers. This competition is held three times a year and is open to all writers whose fiction has not appeared in a print publication with a circulation greater than 5000. The next Short Story Award competition will take place in January: Short Story Award for New Writers. Glimmer Train’s monthly submission calendar may be viewed here.

toby wallis1st place goes to Toby Wallis [pictured] of Haverhill in Suffolk, United Kingdom, who wins $2500 for “The Sudden End of Everything.” His story will be published in Issue 100 of Glimmer Train Stories. This will be his first publication.

2nd place goes to L. E. Rodia of Allston, Massachusetts, who wins $500 for “Always Arriving.”

3rd place goes to Josh Randall of Las Cruces, New Mexico, who wins $300 for “Pump Head.”

A PDF of the Top 25 winners can be found here.

Deadline soon approaching for Family Matters: January 2
Glimmer Train hosts this competition once a year, and first place has been increased to $2500 plus publication in the journal, and 10 copies of that issue. It’s open to all writers for stories about family of any configuration. Most submissions to this category run 1000-5000 words, but can go up to 12,000. Click here for complete guidelines.
Published December 21, 2016
Winners of the 16th annual Carve Magazine Raymond Carver Contest can be found both in the Fall 2016 print issue of Carve as well as online here. Guest Judge Caitlin Horrocks selected the following works:

carveWinners of the 2016 Raymond Carver Contest

1st place
"And It Is My Fault" by Janet Towle

2nd place
"Come Down to the Water" by Emily Flamm

3rd place
"A Working Theory of Stellar Collapse" by Sam Miller Khaikin

Editor's Choice
Selected by Anna Zumbahlen
"Mostly Sunny (With a Slight Chance of Rain)" by Chelsea Catherine

Editor's Choice
Selected by Claire Schadler
"A Wave Breaking" by Phoebe Driscoll
Published December 20, 2016
kenyon reviewEncouraging sophomore- and junior-aged writers around the globe, the annual Kenyon Review's Patricia Grodd Poetry Prize for Young Writers awards one writer publication and a full scholarship to the Kenyon Review Young Writers Workshop. Two runners-up receive publication. The Nov/Dec 2016 Kenyon Review features Winner Alyssa Mazzoli, "Death Uses a Lot of Laundry Detergent," and Runners-Up: Carissa Chen, "Parable," and "Annalise Lozier "f(x)." Editor at Large Natalie Shapero offers an introductory comments on the poems as well. Each of the works can be read on the Kenyon Review website along with past winning entries. The contest is open annually from Nov 1 - 30. There is no entry fee.
Published December 19, 2016
The annual Rattle Poetry Prize is one of the best-known both for its prestige and for its prize. The winner recieves $10,000 plus publication, and ten finalists also receive publication and the chance to be selected by subscribers for the $2000 Reader's Choice Award (voting takes place December 1, 2016 – February 15, 2017). The Winter 2016 issue of Rattle (#54) includes:

rattle2016 Rattle Poetry Prize Winner
Julie Price Pinkerton, “Veins”

Noah Baldino
Ellen Bass
C. Wade Bentley
Rhina P. Espaillat
William Fargason
Ingrid Jendrzejewski
David Kirby
Craig Santos Perez
Emily Ransdell
Patrick Rosal

In addition, six other poets' works were offered standard publication in future issue: Lillian-Yvonne Bertram, Leila Chatti, Chera Hammons, Liv Lansdale, Christine Potter, and Wendy Videlock.
Published December 15, 2016
farah aliJudge Gish Jen has selected Farah Ali’s “Heroes” as the 2016 Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction, which is published in the newest issue of Colorado Review (43.3 Fall/Winter 2016). A finalist in other contests, this is Ali's first published story, and she has a collection of short fiction in the works.
Published December 13, 2016
terrain.orgThe 2016 contest winners and finalists have been awarded with comments from the judges on winning entries available here.

Judged by Kate Bernhiemer
Winner: “Varya’s Black Suede Shoes” by Peter Justin Newall
Finalist: “Everest” by Scott Spires

Judged by Lauret Savoy
Winner: “Geography of the Self” by Catherine Mauk
Finalists: “Life After Life” by DJ Lee and “The Fursuit of Happiness” by Meg Brown

Judged by Eamon Grennan
Winner: “Boyhood Trapped Between Water and Blood”, a long poem by William Wright
Finalists: “Smoke and Miracles” by Kevin Miller, three poems by Cecily Parks, and three poems by Katie Prince

The next contest is open for submissions in January 2017. Winners receive $500, finalists $100.
Published December 08, 2016
The Winter 2016 (38.2) issue of Indiana Review features the winners and runners up of their annual poetry and fiction contests:

Winner 2015 Fiction Prize
Judge Laura van den Berg
Simon Han, "Be Tanly"

Winner 2016 Poetry Prize
Judge Camille Rankine
Alicia Wright, "His Father's Wake"
Finalists 2016 Poetry Prize
Anna Leigh Knowles, "The First Year We Lived Underground"
Talin Tahajian, "Hibernation"

We welcome any/all Feedback.