Home » Newpages Blog » Prairie Schooner Honors Hilda Raz

Prairie Schooner Honors Hilda Raz

The fall 2010 issue of Prarie Schooner features a A Celebration of Hilda Raz, who has retired from UNL and from the editorship of Prairie Schooner as of August.

Raz was editor of Prairie Schooner since 1987 and the founding director of the Prairie Schooner Book Prizes in poetry and short fiction published by the University of Nebraska Press. In 1993 she was named the first Luschei Professor and Editor in the Department of English at the University of Nebraska where she has worked intensively with graduate students in the Ph.D. program. Raz, also received the 2010 Stanley W. Lindberg Award for Literary Editing. This award is presented to someone who has labored to uphold the highest literary standards in a magazine or small press.

Honoring her work and contributions to the literary community are submissions from James Engelhardt, Carole Simmons Oles, Ladette Randolph, Janet Burroway, Glenna Luschei, Mari L’Esperance, Sarah Kennedy, Biljana D. Obradovic, Kelly Grey Carlisle, Erin Flanagan, Pam Weiner, Tim Skeen, Lee Martin, Karma Larsen, Robert Pack, Nancy Welch, Floyd Skloot, R.T. Smith, Kara Candito, Kate Flaherty, Alicia Ostriker, Aaron Raz Link, Peggy Shumaker, and Maxine Kumin.

Spread the word!