Home » Newpages Blog » Bellevue Literary Review 2015 Prize Winners

Bellevue Literary Review 2015 Prize Winners

The spring issue of Bellevue Literary Review features the winners of the 2015 BLR prizes:

bellevue-literary-reviewThe winner of the Goldenberg Prize for Fiction, “Autobiography” by Carla Hartenberger—chosen by judge Chang-rae Lee—follows a set of Canadian conjoined twins who must wrestle with the physiology and psychology that both keep them together and wrench them apart.

The winner of the Felice Buckvar Prize for Nonfiction, “I Must Have Been That Man” by Adina Talve-Goodman, was selected by judge Anne Fadiman. In her winning essay, Talve-Goodman navigates college-age independence, her recent heart transplant, and the challenges of compassion when she comes upon a man lying on the side of the road on a rain-drenched night.

The winner of the Marica and Jan Vilcek Prize for Poetry—”Dysesthesia” by Hannah Baggott, selected by judge Major Jackson—is a vivid look at the sensory mayhem of dysesthesia: “I want to know why I am always wanting,” Baggott writes, “why my body is never quiet…”

The winner of the inaugural Daniel Liebowitz Prize for Student Writing is Philip Cawkwell’s haunting poem “The Dinosaur Exhibit.” This award recognizes one outstanding literary submission from the Medicine Clerkship at the NYU School of Medicine.

Honorable mentions (also published in the issue):
Fiction: “Bystander” by Jen Bergmark
Nonfiction: “Torso” by Leslie Absher
Poetry: “Damaged” by Colby Cedar Smith

Spread the word!