Home » Newpages Blog » Awards :: PEN American Center

Awards :: PEN American Center

The 2008 PEN Literary Awards recipients were determined by distinguished panels of judges, all of whom are writers, editors, translators, poets, or playwrights themselves. This year’s program will see the conferral of a new award: the PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography.

PEN/Nabokov Award ($20,000)
To Cynthia Ozick

PEN/Robert Bingham Fellowship for Writers ($35,000)
To Dalia Sofer

PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography ($10,000)
To Janet Malcolm for Two Lives: Gertrude and Alice

Pels Foundation Awards for Drama ($7,500)
To Richard Nelson and Sarah Ruhl

PEN/Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship ($5,000)
To Theresa Nelson for Julia Delany: The American Version

PEN/Voelcker Award for Poetry ($5,000)
To Kimiko Hahn

PEN Award for Poetry in Translation ($3,000)
To Rosmarie Waldrop for Lingos I-IX

PEN Translation Prize ($3,000)
To Margaret Jull Costa for The Maias

Spread the word!