Home » Newpages Blog » Award :: Tupelo Press First Book Award

Award :: Tupelo Press First Book Award

Tupelo Press is delighted to announce the results of the 9th annual First Book Award, in conjunction with the journal Crazyhorse. This year the annual First Book Award, which will be published by Tupelo Press with the generous support of The College of Charleston in fall 2010, goes to:

Megan Snyder-Camp of Seattle, WA for The Forest of Sure Things

Co-runners up:
Shane McCrae of Iowa City, IA for Mule
Marc McKee of Columbia, MO for Fuse

Other finalists:
Matthew A. Andersson of Barrington, IL for What a Vessel in a Stem
Beth Bachman of Nashville, TN for Temper
Colin Cheney of Brooklyn, NY for Here There Be Monsters
Adam Fell of Madison, WI for Human Resources
Paul Legault of Charlottesville, VA for With
Erin Lyndal Martin of Newport, VA for Hive Mind
Rob Schlegel of Missoula, MT for flame & fern between our fingers flow
Matthew Shindell of La Jolla, CA for In Another Castle
Amanda Rachelle Warren of Kalamazoo, MI for Ridge Runner

All manuscripts were read by Carol Ann Davis and Garret Doherty, Editors of Crazyhorse, and the winner was selected by a panel of three judges consisting of Carol Ann Davis, Garret Doherty, and Jeffrey Levine, Editor-in-Chief of Tupelo Press.

Spread the word!