Home » Newpages Blog » 2013 Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction

2013 Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction

The Colorado Review‘s latest issue features the winner of the 2013 Nelligan Prize for Short Fiction, the prize’s 10th anniversary. Judge Jim Shepard selected Edward Hamlin’s “Night in Erg Chebbi” as the winning piece. Editor Stephanie G’Schwind writes that it is a “hauntingly beautiful story.” And Shepard writes that it “deftly deploys the kind of flyblow and faintly absurd exoticism shot through with menace that was Paul Bowles’s specialty, but the observational intelligence of its portrait of a loving but exhausted couple at the end of their tether is all its own, and both its sense of place and its pained compassion are arresting.” To read more about the prize, click here.

Also featured in this issue are Miki Arndt, Corey Campbell, Molly Patterson, Jen Hirt, Keane Shum, Sarah K. Lenz, Karen Leona Anderson, Mario Chard, Mark Conway, Robert Dannenberg, K.A. Hays, Michael Heller, Nabil Kashyap, and more.

Spread the word!