Home » Newpages Blog » 15th Mudfish Poetry Prize Winners

15th Mudfish Poetry Prize Winners

The 15th annual Mudfish Poetry Prize was judged by Erica Jong, author of The World Began With Yes (Red Hen Press, 2019).

The grand prize winner is Mark Schimmoeller from Frankfort, Kentucky with his poem “Benediction.”

First honorable mention is Cornelia Hoogland’s “Landscape with the Fall of Icarus” and the second honorable mentions is James Trask’s “Springtime and Single Again.”

First place winner and the two honorable mentions will be featured in Mudfish 22 which will soon be available and don’t forget to stay tuned for news announcing the 16th annual Mudfish Poetry Prize deadline and guidelines.


Madeline Artenberg
Kew Gardens, New York

Adrian Blevins
Waterville, Maine

Paola Bruni
Aptos, California

Cornelia Hoogland
Hornby Island, Canada

Daniel Liebert
St. Louis, Missouri

Tim Louis Macaluso
Rochester, New York

Samuel Oguntoyinbo
Solon, Ohio

Mark Schimmoeller
Frankfort, Kentucky

Don Schofield
Thessaloniki, Greece

Deborah Schupack
Croton-on-Hudson, New York

James Trask
San Marcos, Texas

Laurie Zimmerman
Los Angeles, California

Spread the word!