Home » Newpages Blog » Tupelo Press First/Second Book Award Winner

Tupelo Press First/Second Book Award Winner

Paisley Rekdal has selected Yes Thorn by Amy McCann [pictured] of Minneapolis, Minnesota as winner of the Tupelo Press 2013 First/Second Book Award, naming Sleep Sculptures by Michael Homolka of New York, New York as runner-up.

Amy McCann’s poetry has recently appeared in the Kenyon Review, Gettysburg Review, and West Branch, among other journals and magazines. She was a 2012-2013 McKnight Artist Fellow in Poetry and 2012 fellowship recipient from the Virginia Center for Creative Arts. She received her M.F.A. in poetry from Eastern Washington University and currently lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota, where she teaches at the University of Northwestern—Saint Paul.

Finalists (in alphabetical order)

Kate Braverman of Santa Fe, New Mexico for Acts of Autumn
Tina Cane of Rumford, Rhode Island for Archipelago
Noel Crook of Kittrell, North Carolina for Salt White Moon
Brent House of Grove City, Pennsylvania for The Lightered Prophecy
Steve Lautermilch of Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina for Moth on a Window Pane at Dusk
S. D. Lishan of Marion, Ohio for The Archeology of Startled Light
Joy Manesiotis of Redlands, California for Revoke
Chad Parmenter of Lewiston, New York for Vivienne’s Recovery
Jeremy Pataky of Anchorage, Alaska for The Smallest Ice Age
Juliet Patterson of Minneapolis, Minnesota for Threnody
Stephanie Ellis Schlaifer of Saint Louis, Missouri for Clarkston Street Polaroids
Sarah Sousa of Ashfield, Massachusetts for Split the Crow
Sharon Wang of Queens, New York for Republic of Mercy
Susan Settlemyre Williams of Richmond, Virginia for Navigating the Belly of Night

Spread the word!