Home » Newpages Blog » The MacGuffin 2015 Poem Hunt Contest Winners

The MacGuffin 2015 Poem Hunt Contest Winners

macguffinWinner and honorable mentions of the 20th National Poet Hunt Contest are featured in the newest issue (Fall 2015) of The MacGuffin.

First place
“Farewell the Beagle!” by Susan Richardson

Honorable Mention
“Time Awaits Her Arrival” by​ Susan Cowger
“The Secret Historian” by Elisabeth Murawski

Judge Laura Kasischke writes, “This was no easy task. The poetry submitted to the 20th National Poem Hunt Contest was remarkable. The range of styles and subject matters was vast, of course, but the mystery and loveliness of these many pieces remained consistent. Reading such a wealth of powerful poetry, I felt renewed in my hope for the craft. Any art form that calls so many sharp-eyed, witty, passionate minds to it can never die. In the end, I chose the poems that wouldn’t leave me alone, the ones I found myself thinking about for days after reading them.”

Spread the word!