Home » Newpages Blog » New Lit on the Block :: The New Guard

New Lit on the Block :: The New Guard

Under the guidance of Shanna Miller McNair, Publisher, Founder & Editor-in-Chief, The New Guard is the first “independent multi-genre literary review in the state of Maine” whose aim is to “juxtapose narrative with experiment and create a new dialogue.” TNG is a print annual, available for purchase directly from the publication.

The New Guard held two contests for their premier issue: William Derge won the contest in fiction judged by Debra Spark, and Payne Ratner won the contest in poetry judged by Donald Hall. Each contest offered a $1,000 prize and publication in this issue along with all the finalists.

This inaugural issue features new essays by Jaed Coffin & Bill Roorbach, and a segment called “Writers to Writers: Fan Letters to the Dead,” a collection written especially for TNG. Contributors to the fan letter segment include Sven Birkerts, Adam Braver, Boman Desai, Annie Finch, John Goldbach, Tom Grimes, Richard Hoffman, Maxine Kumin, Thomas Lynch, Josip Novakovich, Lewis Robinson, Afaa Michael Weaver & Scott Wolven.

The New Guard seeks to publish literary and experimental fiction, narrative and experimental poetry. Submissions for the next issue will begin Spring-Summer 2011.

Spread the word!