Home » Newpages Blog » Glimmer Train New Writers Winners :: 2009

Glimmer Train New Writers Winners :: 2009

Glimmer Train has just chosen the winning stories for their May Short Story Award for New Writers competition. This competition is held quarterly and is open to any writer whose fiction hasn’t appeared in a print publication with a circulation greater than 5000. No theme restrictions. Word count range: 500-12,000. Their monthly submission calendar may be viewed here.

First place: Noa Jones of New York, NY, wins $1200 for “Brother Ron”. Her story will be published in the Fall 2010 issue of Glimmer Train Stories, out in August 2010.

Second place: Farley Urmston of Sherborn, MA, wins $500 for “Pretending”.
Third place: Benjamin Janse of Jamaica Plain, MA, wins $300 for “The Great Storm”.

A PDF of the Top 25 winners can be found here.

Deadline approaching!

Very Short Fiction Award: July 31

This competition is held twice a year and is open to all writers for stories with a word count range not exceeding 3000. No theme restrictions. Click here for complete guidelines.

Spread the word!