Home » Newpages Blog » Flannery O’Connor Short Fiction Award Winners

Flannery O’Connor Short Fiction Award Winners

E.J. Levy, of Washington, DC, and Hugh Sheehy, of Brooklyn, NY, have been named the winners of this year’s Flannery O’Connor Short Fiction Award. Levy’s collection MY LIFE IN THEORY and Sheehy’s collection THE INVISIBLES will be published by the University of Georgia Press and will be available in Fall 2012.

The competition, now in its twenty-eighth year, seeks to encourage the writers of excellent short stories and bring their work to a wider audience by offering publication of a book-length collection and a $1,000 prize. The Flannery O’Connor Award has helped launch the literary careers of such previous winners as Ha Jin and Antonya Nelson.

Spread the word!