Home » Newpages Blog » First Annual Federico Garcia Lorca Poetry Prize Winners

First Annual Federico Garcia Lorca Poetry Prize Winners

Green Briar Review held its first annual Federico Garcia Lorca Poetry Prize judged by Sean Thomas Dougherty, who notes, “In judging the poems submitted for this contest, I looked foremost at language on the level of the line. This was the difference in deciding which poems were most successful. Then at meaning, then at guts. It was this last one that showed some poems were just braver emotionally than others.”

Dougherty selected the top three poems and then ten Honorable Mentions. Each of the three Green Briar Review editors then selected one poem from those ten for publication.

First Prize
What the Other Eye Sees
Christina Clark

Second Prize
Cary Waterman

Third Prize
Tattoos and Birthmarks
Patrice Melnick

Honorable Mention Editors’ Pick

Spiders and Big Gear Talk
Harlow Crandall

Tearing Down the Horseshoe & Star
Gentris L. Jointe

O Dochartaig, Ar nDutcas
Kevin Dougherty

Honorable Mentions

April Aubade
Richard Foerster

Monica Teresa Ortiz

Trish Harris

Tarke al Yayeb Mohamed Bouazizi
Josh Gage

Mary Golias

Break On Through
Jeanne Sirotkin Haynes

State Park
Abigail Chiaramonte

Spread the word!