Home » Newpages Blog » 2015 Rattle Poetry Prize Winners

2015 Rattle Poetry Prize Winners

tiana clark2015 Rattle Poetry Prize Winner and Finalists appear in the newest issue or Rattle (#50). Rattle received a record 4,022 entries and roughly 15,000 poems from which the following were chosen.

1st Prize – $10,000 and publication
“Equilibrium” by Tiana Clark [photo by Andrea Yelk]

Finalists – $200 and publication
“Our Beautiful Life When It’s Filled With Shrieks” by Christopher Citro
“Work in Progress” by Rhina P. Espaillat
“The Glance” by Jennifer Givhan
“Morning at the Welfare Office” by Valentina Gnup
“Old Age Requires the Greatest Courage” by Red Hawk
“More Than This” by David Kirby
“Yesterday” by Travis Mossotti
“Sugar Babe” by Cherise A. Pollard
“Deus ex Machina” by Melissa King Rogers
“Elegy” by Patricia Smith

Each of these finalists are also eligible for the $2,000 Readers’ Choice Award, to be selected by entrant and subscriber vote (the voting period is December 1, 2015 – February 15, 2016).

Another nine poems were selected for standard publication, and offered a space in the open section of a future issue: George Bilgere, Christopher Citro, Taylor Collier, Jennifer Givhan, Chris Green, M, S.H. Lohmann, Christine Poreba, and Laura Read.

Spread the word!