Home » Newpages Blog » 2014 Gulf Coast Prize Winners Featured

2014 Gulf Coast Prize Winners Featured

The Winter/Spring 2015 issue of Gulf Coast: A Journal of Literature and Fine Arts features the winners of the 2014 Gulf Coast Prizes:

“Engagement Party, Georgia” by Raena Shirali
Selected by Rachel Zucker

“Love Drones” by Noam Dorr
Selected by John D’Agata

“Kansas, America, 1899” by Edward McPherson
Selected by Andrea Barrett

The deadline for this annual prize is March 22, 2015. This year’s judges are Sarah Shun-lien Bynum (Fiction), Maggie Nelson (Nonfiction), and Carl Phillips (Poetry). The contest awards publication and $1500 each to the best poem, essay, and short story, as well as $250 to two honorable mentions in each genre. The winners will appear in Gulf Coast 28.1, due out in Fall 2015, and all entries will be considered for paid publication on the Gulf Coast website as Online Exclusives. The reading fee includes a one-year subscription to Gulf Coast and submissions are accepted both online and via postal mail.

Spread the word!