The Louisville Review :: NewPages Guide to Literary Magazines

The Louisville Review cover

The Louisville Review

About The Louisville Review: Since 1976, The Louisville Review has published the best of contemporary writing in fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, drama, and writing by children (K-12).

Contact Information:

Spalding University

851 S Fourth St

Louisville, KY  40203

Phone: (502) 585-9911 x 2777

Email: louisvillereview[at]spalding[dot]edu


Submission/Subscription Information:

Simultaneous submissions: yes Email submissions: no Online submissions: yes Reading period: year-round Response time: 4-6 months Payment: copies Contests: no Founded: 1976 Issues per year: 2 Average pages: 200 Sample copy (postpaid): $5 Cover Price: $8 Subscription (Individuals): $14 Subscription (Inst): $12

Publisher's Description: The Louisville Review, sponsored by the brief-residency MFA in Writing Program at Spalding University, was founded in 1976 at the University of Louisville by faculty editor Sena Jeter Naslund and two students. Known for excellence nationwide and abroad, The Louisville Review has recently published such well-known writers as David Ray, David Brendan Hopes, Frank X Walker, Jhumpa Lahiri, Greg Pape, Debra Kang Dean, Jeanie Thompson, Robin Lippincott, Garrett Hongo, Peter Cooley, Tony Hoagland, and Michael Burkhard. From its founding, TLR has fostered the development of new writers; a poem TLR published twenty years ago by Alberto Riós now appears in standard literature textbooks. TLR published the work of Louise Erdrich while she was still a student at Johns Hopkins.

The goal of the magazine continues to be to import the best writing to local readers, to juxtapose the work of established writers with new writers, and to export the best local writers to a national readership. Each poem and story submitted to TLR is judged entirely on its own merit whether the author is already nationally known or previously unpublished.

Recent issues:

Volume 74 features new poetry by Maurice Manning, Roger Reeves, Sarah Arvio, Jane Gentry, and others; fiction by Rick DeMarinis and Mark Powell; nonfiction by Dianne Aprile, Erin Flanagan, Gary Fincke, and others; and drama by Toni M. Wiley, Mallorie Halsall, and others. Guest editors for this issue include David-Matthew Barnes, Pete Duval, Roy Hoffman, Lisa Williams, and Betsy Woods (Children’s Corner). The Louisville Review gratefully acknowledges the support of the brief-residency Master of Fine Arts in Writing Program at Spalding University.

Volume 73: Guest editors Silas House (fiction), Debra Kang Dean (poetry), Charlie Schulman (drama) and Diana M. Raab (nonfiction) chose work from the likes of Larry Brenner, Margaret Mackinnon, Stephanie Keys, Sarah Gauch, Zara Raab,  Anthony James and others. Children’s Corner editor Betsy Woods selected a handful of poems by children from ages 11 to 17.

Volume 72 features poetry from Britton Shurley, Molly Curtis, John A. Nieves, Hugh Behm-Steinberg, Darren C. Demaree, Murray Silverstein, Kathleen Hellen, Kirsten M. Holt, Nicole Robinson, Missy Brownson, Kristina Bicher, Terry Hermsen, Jonathan H. Scott, Martha Greenwald, Frank Montesonti, Marci Rae Johnson, L.S. McKee, Tania Runyan, Colleen Abel, Caroline A. LeBlanc, Andrew Najberg, and Rob McAlister. Fiction from Philip F. Deaver, Melissa Pheterson, and Alex Taylor. Creative Nonfiction from Ellen Hagan, Sophia Efthimiatou, Judy Sobeloff, and Julie Polter.Drama from Gay H. Hammond, Henry Murray, Constance Congdon, and Arwen Mitchell.


last updated 11/25/2013