The Briar Cliff Review :: NewPages Guide to Literary Magazines

The Briar Cliff Review cover

The Briar Cliff Review

About The Briar Cliff Review: Founded in 1989, The Briar Cliff Review is an eclectic literary, cultural and art magazine. Its full-size format and elegantly simple design provide an aesthetically pleasing venue for the work of contributors.

Contact Information:

Briar Cliff University

3303 Rebecca St.

Sioux City, IA  51104

Phone: (712) 279-1651


Submission/Subscription Information:

Simultaneous submissions: yes Postal submissions: yes Email submissions: no Online submissions: yes (see website) Reading period: 8/1-11/1 Response time: 4-6 months Payment: no Contests: yes (see website) ISSN: 1550-0926 Founded: 1989 Issues per year: 1 Sample copy (postpaid): $17.50 Cover Price: $15 Subscription: $15 plus $2.50 for postage

Publisher's description: The Briar Cliff Review, published annually at Briar Cliff University, has received numerous awards and is a member of CLMP (Council of Literary Magazines and Presses). The editors are committed to nurturing artists and fostering the best of both emerging and established writers.

Our full-size format and elegantly simple design provide an aesthetically pleasing venue for the work of contributors, who will often find their writing juxtaposed with four-color art. We promote emerging writers by reviewing recent books of poetry and fiction. In addition, The Briar Cliff Review also sponsors an annual literary contest in poetry, fiction, and creative non-fiction.

Writers featured in The Briar Cliff Review include Josip Novakovich, Diane Glancy, Carol Bly, James Doyle, Gaylord Brewer, Julie Sheehan, Diane Frank Jenna Blum, Brian Bedard, Lee Ann Roripaugh and Vivian Shipley. It showcases fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, reviews, and art that is evocative of our place—Siouxland, that area of the Big Sioux River Basin in South Dakota, Minnesota, Iowa and Nebraska. Although we gratefully accept contributions from all over the United States and the world, we are happy to proclaim ourselves a regional publication. It doesn’t diminish us; it enhances us.

Recent issues:

Volume 26: In this 2014 issue we go global. We have art, stories, poems and essays with connections to Thailand, Peru, Dubai, Ethiopia, Paraguay, Syria, France, Italy, Japan, and Pakistan. Yet these works still have themes that we see in our own native soil. The issue also features the winners from the fiction, nonfiction, and poetry contests: Leslie Kirk Campbell’s “Thunder in Illinois,” JLSchneider’s “Call Me Tío,” and Rosa Lane’s “Apogee.”

Volume 25 features the poetry, fiction and nonfiction contest winners (Beatrice Lazarus, Amy Merrick, Mary Jean Port) along with literary works by Gaylord Brewer, James Proffitt, William Joliff, Paula Goldman, Kenneth O'Keefe, Donna Pucciani,  James Doyle, Julian Hoffman, Lucille H. Blanchard, Linda Barnhart, M.T. Hoyer, James McKean, Amy Kortuem, Cornelia F Mutel, Brian Bedard, Kevin Cole, and art by  Thomas Prinz, Jane Booth, Terri Parish McGaffin, Robert Allen, Marjorie Mikasen, Larry Roots, Michael Herres, Chris Cassimatis, Kevin Tolman, Graceann Warn, Chad Cable, Jacqueline Kluver, Colin C. Smith, Jodi Whitlock, Stuart Wheat, John Garrett, Matt Drissell, Teresa Schmidt, Bart Vargas, Ben Pratt and Doug Burg.

Volume 24 features the poetry, fiction, and nonfiction contest winners (Jude Nutter, Deborah Thompson, and Kevin Leahy) along with work by Margaret Chua, Angela Rydell, Fredrick Zydek, Lance Wilcox, Lindsay Allen, James Doyle, Melita Schaum, Michael Gracey, Lyn Lifshin, Pat Underwood, Doug Ramspeck, and more.


last updated 07/14/2014