NewPages.com is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

NewPages Book Reviews

Reviews of newly published and forthcoming independent press and university press titles.

Posted November 01, 2018

  • Subtitle A Brussels Anthology
  • Image Image
  • Book Type Anthology Edited
  • by Patrick ten Brink
  • Date Published October 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-1-941861-70-7
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 354pp
  • Price $19.95
  • Review by Valerie Wieland

Editor Patrick ten Brink has rounded up a mix of genres for the newly released The Circle: A Brussels Anthology.

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Fiction
  • by Edward J. Delaney
  • Date Published June 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-1-885983-51-0
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 280pp
  • Price $17.00
  • Review by Valerie Wieland

Quinn Boyle, a deep-sea fisherman, and his older brother Robbie, a sports journalist, lead an impressive cast of characters looking for answers to some mysterious disappearances in Edward J. Delaney’s book Follow the Sun.

  • Subtitle Or, The Scene of the Crime
  • Image Image
  • Book Type Poetry
  • by Chaun Webster
  • Date Published April 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-934819-73-0
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 106pp
  • Price $15.00
  • Review by DM O'Connor
stage
you are not suppose to be here
yet you are –
some natural contradiction.
your snarl and ravenous appetite—
fiction. an imagined geography.

Black bodies or the scene of the crime

Chaun Webster’s GeNtry!fication defies labels. Chapbook? Full length collection? Manifesto? Academic essay? Diatribe? Graphic novella? Epistles? Jazz improvisation? Or classically structured symphony?

  • Subtitle “Helpful” Letters To The World's Most Wonderful Brands
  • Image Image
  • Book Type Nonfiction
  • by Zack Sternwalker
  • Date Published November 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-1-62106-400-8
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 128pp
  • Price $9.95
  • Review by Katy Haas

Is it too early to start experiencing holiday dread? Probably. But that hasn’t stopped me from practicing political arguments in the shower and sulking on the couch while binge-eating. However, I did stumble upon some needed comedic relief the other day in the form of some questionably helpful letters written by Zack Sternwalker.

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Fiction
  • by Darrin Doyle
  • Date Published October 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-0-998632599
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 285pp
  • Price $15.99
  • Review by Cody Lee

Scoundrels Among Us is definitely a man’s book. There aren’t too many female characters, and as much as I want to criticize it for that, I’d be lying if I said that the book never made me laugh. It’s full of terrible, dark humor, sometimes absurd—in the best possible way (think Daniil Kharms, or even Bob Kaufman). There are kids on fire, sitting in class with charred skin, a group of nine brothers that work at a Costco-esque department store, all pretending to be the same person, and a man, who’s dying alone in a forest, and his last wish is to have an extra-large Cajun Deluxe Meat Lovers pizza delivered to his exact, addressless location.

  • Subtitle A Life and Work in Conversation with the Life and Work of Etheridge Knight
  • Image Image
  • Book Type Nonfiction
  • by Terrance Hayes
  • Date Published September 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-1-940696-61-4
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 224pp
  • Price $25.00
  • Review by Cody Lee

I was nervous going into this book. I imagined a comparison between two poets to be full of abstruse information on cadence and meter, et cetera. To Float in the Space Between is indeed a comparison between the author, Terrance Hayes, and the late “prison poet,” Etheridge Knight; however, at no point in time does Hayes leave the reader out in the storm. He invites us inside, shares a cigarette, and lets us borrow his skin for a couple hundred pages.

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Poetry
  • by Adeeba Shahid Talukder
  • Date Published June 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-0-9975805-9-4
  • Format Chapbook
  • Pages 40pp
  • Price $8.50
  • Review by DM O’Connor
where I am
farthest from my mother
waiting
on 200th St

What is Not Beautiful is strikingly beautiful. Like the first snowflakes on a fallen autumn leaf, Adeeba Shahid Talukder’s words are delicate, insightful and sublime.

newpages-footer-logo

We welcome any/all Feedback.