NewPages.com is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

NewPages Book Reviews

Reviews of newly published and forthcoming
independent press and university press titles.


Posted February 05, 2019

  • Subtitle Poems of Resistance and Resilience
  • Image Image
  • Book Type Anthology Edited
  • by Sixteen Rivers Press
  • Date Published September 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-1-939639-16-5
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 224pp
  • Price $20.00
  • Review by Valerie Wieland

I love anthologies. Where else can you read so many diverse, creative ideas linked to a theme and compiled in one electrifying place? In the introduction to the anthology, America, We Call Your Name: Poems of Resistance and Resilience, Murray Silverstein asks, “With our common culture so fractured, what did poetry have to say?” The answers here are emotional and right on target.

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Poetry
  • by Julie L. Moore
  • Date Published March 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-0-5326-4760-1
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 140pp
  • Price $17.00
  • Review by Kimberly Ann Priest

How does one write rejection? Specifically, the violence or indifference of a spouse? One makes a decision to be with a particular person, like be with them in everything—they say, yes—but the contents of that pact disintegrate, sometimes going up in flames quickly, and other times burning slowly and carried off, piece-by-piece, with the wind.

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Nonfiction
  • by Howard Mansfield
  • Date Published October 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-0-87233-270-6
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 128pp
  • Price $19.95
  • Review by Valerie Wieland

Howard Mansfield’s new book, The Habit of Turning the World Upside Down, is a series of essays describing public and private projects that have deprived people of ownership. Entities behind the projects often claim they’re “acting in the public interest,” writes Mansfield. He goes on to say, “I was especially interested in the emotional toll these projects took. [ . . . ] I was witnessing an essential American experience: the world turned upside down. And it all turned on one word: property.”

  • Subtitle Build a Successful, Sustainable, Meaningful, Book Business from the Ground Up
  • Image Image
  • Book Type Nonfiction
  • by Joe Biel
  • Date Published December 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-1-62106-285-1
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 416pp
  • Price $19.95
  • Review by Vivian Wagner

Joe Biel’s A People’s Guide to Publishing is an inspirational and practical guidebook for anyone interested in starting and sustaining a publishing company. Biel, founder of Microcosm Publishing, a small, Portland, Oregon-based press, understands how to build a publishing company from scratch, and with his conversational style he leads readers through every stage of this process and beyond.

  • Subtitle The Lucy Poems
  • Image Image
  • Book Type Poetry
  • by Taylor Liljegren
  • Date Published September 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-1-949279-02-3
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 56pp
  • Price $9.95
  • Review by Katy Haas

Born over thirty years after its final air date, my knowledge of the TV show I Love Lucy begins and ends in the handful of sporadic reruns I watched at my grandmother’s house on rainy days when I was growing up. Seeing her face twisting up as she acknowledged her latest goof-up on grainy black and white footage, hearing her wail “Ricky,” or seeing her shove chocolates into her mouth all readily come to mind when I hear the TV show’s title, and I can now add Slapstick: The Lucy Poems by Taylor Liljegren to my list of what I think about when I think of I Love Lucy.

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Fiction
  • by Danielle Dutton
  • Date Published September 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-1-940696-77-5
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 144pp
  • Price $18.00
  • Review by Cody Lee

Danielle Dutton is the author of three books and wrote the texts for Richard Kraft’s Here Comes Kitty: A Comic Opera. Her first novel, SPRAWL was published by Siglio in 2010, but Wave Books re-released this little masterpiece in 2018, and thank goodness, because, subconsciously, I have been searching everywhere for the present-day Georges Perec. I’m not entirely sure how that sounds, but I promise that I mean nothing but praise for Dutton and her characterization of the modern housewife.

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Poetry
  • by Rae Armantrout
  • Date Published January 2019
  • ISBN-13 978-0-8195-7823-5
  • Format Hardcover
  • Pages 160pp
  • Price $24.95
  • Review by Valerie Wieland

There’s no doubt that Pulitzer Prize winner Rae Armantrout is a superb poet, but to fully appreciate her latest book Wobble, a quick read-through might not do.

newpages-footer-logo

We welcome any/all Feedback.