Saranac Review :: NewPages Guide to Literary Magazines

 Saranac Review cover

Saranac Review

About Saranac Review: Attempting to act as a source of connection, the journal publishes the work of emerging and established writers from the United States, Canada and beyond.

Contact Information:

Dept. of English, SUNY Plattsburgh

101 Broad St.

Plattsburgh, NY 12901

Phone: (518) 564-2136



Submission/Subscription Information:

Formats: print, digital

Genres: poetry, fiction, nonfiction, cross-genre, translations

Simultaneous submissions: yes (with notification) Email submissions: no Online submissions: yes (see website) Reading period: 9/1-4/30 Response time: 4-6 months Payment: copies Contests: yes (see website) ISSN: 1556-1119 Founded: 2004 Issues per year: 1 Average pages: 180 Sample price (postpaid): $5

Publisher’s description: The Saranac Review was born in 2004 out of four writers' vision to open a space for the celebration of many voices including those from Canada. Committed to dissolving boundaries of all kinds, the Saranac Review strives to be a textual clearing in which a space is opened for literary cross-pollination. We aim to publish diverse voices, a literal "cluster of stars," an illumination of the Iroquois roots of our namesake, the word, Saranac. We publish work that engages, provokes, and resonates.

We have published Jay Parini, Julia Alvarez, Donald Revell, Xu Xi, Marilyn Nelson, Lawrence Raab, T. Alan Broughton, Jacob M. Appel, Tom Wayman, Colette Inez, Louise Warren, Brian Campbell, Gregory Pardlo, Myfanwy Collins William Giraldi, and other fine emerging and established writers.

Recent issues:

Issue 8 includes a special poetry section to celebrate the Black Poetry Day Poets—E. Ethelbert Miller, Gretna Wilkinson, Charles Fort, Marilyn Nelson, and Tony Medina—as well as poetry by Lawrence Raab, Ricardo Pau-Llosa, Francine Witte; fiction by David Hicks, Kathleene Donahoo; creative nonfiction by Julie Marie Wade, and much more.

Issue 7 Features poetry by Louise Warren, Faith Shearin, Colette Inez, Sheryl St. Martin, Brian Campbell and Roger Mitchell. Fiction by Katherine Heiny, Josh Peterson, Dennis McFadden; Non Fiction by Eric Liu, Rudolf Ogoo Okonkwo, and Madeline Stein.


last updated 09/30/2013