Passages North :: NewPages Guide to Literary Magazines

Passages North cover

Passages North

About Passages North: For thirty years, Passages North has published quality fiction, nonfiction and poetry from both established and emerging writers.

Contact Information:

English Department, Gries Hall

1401 Presque Isle Avenue

Marquette, MI  49855

Phone: (906) 227-1203

Email: passages[a]


Submission/Subscription Information:

Simultaneous submissions: yes, as long as you tell us Email submissions: no Reading period: 9/1-4/15 Response time: 2-4 months Payment: 2 copies Contests: yes, see website ISSN: 0278-0828 Founded: 1979 Issues per year: 1 Copy price: $13 Average pages: 260 Sample price (postpaid): $7 Subscription 1 year: $13

Publisher’s description: An annual journal, Passages North is sponsored by Northern Michigan University. For thirty years we have published some of the finest fiction, creative nonfiction and poetry from both new and established writers. We print both traditional and experimental work, presenting a broad spectrum of voice and style. Our writers have gone on to win Pushcart Prizes and are nominated for Best American and O’Henry awards.

Recent contributors include: Steve Almond, Jacob Appel, Sandra Beasley, Matthew Cashion, Chad Davidson, Gregory Fraser, Bob Hicok, David Dodd Lee, Teresa Milbrodt, Mary Ann Samyn, and Ginger Strand.

Passages North holds two fiction contests (Waasmode Short Fiction and Just Desserts Short-Short Fiction) starting in the spring of every odd year, and The Thomas Hruska Memorial Nonfiction and Elinor Benedict Poetry contests in the spring of every even year. Prize awards of $1000. Check our website for our current contests.

Recent issues:

2014: New Fiction, nonfiction and poetry by Monica Berlin, Steven Church, Katie Cortese, Caleb Curtiss, Kwame Dawes, Norman Dubie ,Carol Guess & Kelly Magee, Ming Holden, Brandon Davis Jennings, Vandana Khanna, Kyle Minor, Donald Platt, Bob Hicok, Kerry James Evans, Meredith Davies Hadaway, Jim Daniels, and more. Plus the winners of the Thomas J. Hruska Memorial Nonfiction Prize and the Elinor Benedict Poetry Prize.

This issue (34, Winter 2013) features Kristin Abraham, John Azrak, Jenny Boully, Hans Burger, Christine Caulfield, Michelle Dove, Stefani Farris, Michael Filas, Toni Graham, Karen Hays, Rochelle Hurt, Brandon David Jennings, Hiram Larew, Sally Wen Mao, Roy Mash, Brenda Miller, Jill Osier, Elena Passarello, Emma Ramey, Susan Terris, Matthew Vollmer, Allen Woodman, and many more.

This issue (33, Winter 2012) features new fiction, nonfiction and poetry by Chidelia Edochie, Roxane Gay, Lauri Anderson, Laura Adamczyk, Meredith Neuman, Julie Marie Wade, Chase Dressler, Mary Elizabeth Pope, Ander Monson, Brandon Grew, Charlotte Muse, Michael Marberry, David Wagoner, Tarfia Faizullah, Barbara Pelman and more.


last updated 07/14/2014