The First Line :: NewPages Guide to Literary Magazines

The First Line cover        Buy current issue now

The First Line

About The First Line: The First Line is unaffiliated, unfunded, unassuming, and far from uninspiring. It is a writer’s journal for readers.

Contact Information:

Editor: David LaBounty

P.O. Box 250382

Plano, TX 75025-0382



Ssubmission/Subscription Information:

Genres: fiction, nonfiction

Simultaneous submissions: no Email submissions: yes Online submissions: no Reading period: year-round Response time: 2-3 weeks after end of submission period Payment: yes (see website) Contests: no ISSN: 1525-9382 Founded: 1999 Issues per year: 4 Copy price: $3 Average pages: 72 Sample price (postpaid): $4 Subscription (Ind/Inst) 1 year: $15

Publisher’s description: The First Line was created as an alternative to the staid literary fare of the last century, a place where little-known and beginning writers could come and share their experiments. Over time, our dedication to writers and our quirky sensibility have gained us a loyal following.

As we enter our fifteenth year, we want to continue to inspire writers to entertain and even enlighten. So, if you are ever stuck staring at the blank page, give our starters a shot. Then submit. For it's readers we have and writers we want.

Recent issues:

The first line for our Summer 2014 edition is "Please, Sylvia, give me a moment to think." See how Stacey Greene, Neil James Hudson, Courtney McDermott, Qwen Pinckney, Lori Stansal, Dave Tilton, Eric E. Wallace, Julie Zeppa, and Alvaro Zinos-Amaro end up in places completely different from where they all started.

The first line for our Spring 2014 edition is "Carlos discovered _________ under a pile of shoes in the back of his grandmother's closet." See how Andrew Blackman, Etienne Blue, Shelon Costa, Avery Gregurich, EC Hanlon, Qwen Pinckney, Joe Rosenbaum, Jeanne Sapunor, and Tori Zanzalari end up in places completely different from where they all started.

Winter 2013's first line? "I came of age in a time of no heroes." It all starts the same, but see how each author (Keith Casto, Zach Davis, V. J. Hamilton, Vee James, Aleaha Jones, Michael Edwin Q., Tracy Rees, Maya Sokolovski, Amanda Yskamp, and Greg Zeck) presents their own story.


last updated 6/23/2014