Crazyhorse :: NewPages Guide to Literary Magazines

Crazyhorse cover        Buy current issue now


About Crazyhorse: Crazyhorse publishes the entire spectrum of today's fiction, essays, and poetry—from the mainstream to the avant-garde, from the established to the undiscovered writer.

Contact Information:

Department of English, College of Charleston

66 George Street

Charleston, SC  29424

Phone: (843) 953-5665



Submission/Subscription Information:

Simultaneous submissions: yes Email submissions: no Reading period: 9/01-5/31 Response time: 3-5 months Payment: yes (see website) Contests: yes (see website) ISSN: 0011-0841 Founded: 1960 Issues per year: 2 Distributors: Ingram Periodicals Average pages: 160 Sample copy (postpaid): $7 Cover Price: $10 Subscription (1 year): $20

Publisher’s Description: Recent poems from Crazyhorse were selected for reprint in The Best American Poetry 2008 and 2007 and The Pushcart Prize anthology, recent fiction in The Best American Short Stories 2008. Richard Jackson’s poem “Cain’s Legacy,” won a 2004 Pushcart Prize. Dinty W. Moore’s essay “Son of Mr. Green Jeans,” was reprinted in the January 2004 Harper’s Magazine. Read excerpts online:

Since 1960, Crazyhorse has published John Updike, Raymond Carver, Jorie Graham, John Ashbery, Robert Bly, Ha Jin, James Wright, Carolyn Forché, Charles Simic, Lynda Hull, Charles Wright, Jean Valentine, and Billy Collins. Past authors have been reprinted in the annual Pushcart Prize and Best American anthologies, have won Pulitzer Prizes, the National Book Award, the O. Henry Prize, have been Guggenheim fellows and NEA Fellowship recipients.

Each year Crazyhorse offers the Crazyhorse Fiction Prize, the Crazyhorse Nonfiction Prize, and the Lynda Hull Memorial Poetry Prize. The prizes awards are currently $2,000 for each genre, and the winning story, essay, and poem(s) are published in Crazyhorse. Please visit our website for more details.

Recent issues:

The Spring 2014 issues features prose by Marting Cloutier, Mark Cox, Ben Fowlkes, Kristin Inciardi, Andrew Johnson, Heather Monley, Christa Romanosky, Peter Selgin, and Courtney Sender; with poetry by Kristin Bock, Don Bogen, Molly Brodak, Lisa Fay Coutley, Tom Daley, Heather Dubrow, Keith Ekiss, Robert Fernandez, Kit Frick, Terrance Hayes, Rebecca Hazelton, H. L. Hix, Kimberly Johnson, Brandon Krieg, Esther Lee, Ed Madden, Jamaal May, Shara McCallum, Davis McCombs, Philip Metres, Jennifer Perrine, Kevin Phan, Doug Ramspeck, C.J. Sage, Natasha Sajé, Anne Shaw, Caki Wilkinson, and Jenny Xie.

In the Fall 2013 issue: Fiction by Kelly Magee, Jill Rosenberg, Dana Fitz Gale, John Matthew Fox, and Heidi Diehl; Essays by Jesse Donaldson, Samantha Simpson, and Richard Terrill; and Poetry by Hadara Bar-Nadav, Amy Woolard, Robert Huotari, Michael Metivier, Jillian Weise, Cate Lycurgus, Shara Lessley, Jon Davis, Bruce Beasley, Susan Laughter Meyers, L.S. Klatt, Lindsey D. Alexander, Matthew Hittinger, Gabriella R. Tallmadge, Marc McKee, Raza Ali Hasan, L.S. Klatt, Matthew Gwathmey, Catherine Pierce, Frannie Lindsay, Melina Draper, CJ Evans, Danielle Cadena Deulen, and Mark Svenvold.

The Spring 2013 issue features fiction by Michael Kardos, Katherine L. Hester, Kate Petersen, and Wayne Harrison; essays by Katharine Coles, Doughlas Whynott, and Elizabhet Kalman; poetry by Vincent Guerra, Alice Fulton, Mary Biddinger, Alex Lemon, Matthew Reed Croey, Amaud Jamaul Johnson, Nancy Eimers, Joshua Marie Wilkinson, Jenny Mueller, Bruce Bond, Tracey M. Atsitty, John Gallaher, Erica Wright, Matt Zambito, Heather Christle, Jessica Garrat, Meighan L. Sharp, Gregory Donovan, Janet McNally, and dawn lonsinger; with cover art by Manning Williams.


last updated 4/23/2014