Home » Magazines » Literary Magazines » Crazyhorse


  • Item View Image: Item View Image
  • About this Magazine:

    Crazyhorse has been publishing the best emerging and established writers for over fifty years.

  • Editor(s): Bret Lott, Anthony Varallo, Emily Rosko
  • Contact Information:

  • Organization (if applicable): College of Charleston
  • Address 1: 66 George Street
  • City: Charleston
  • State Code: SC
  • Postal Code: 29424
  • Phone: (843) 953-4470
  • Email: [email protected]
  • Submission/Subscription Information:

  • Format: Print
  • Genres: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry
  • Sample (Postpaid): $7
  • Copy Price: $10
  • Simultaneous Submissions: yes (with notice)
  • Postal Submissions: no
  • Email Submissions: no
  • Online Submissions: yes (see website)
  • Subscription (individuals): $20
  • Subscription (institutions): $20
  • Reading Period: 9/1-5/31
  • Response Time: 3 months
  • Payment: yes (see website)
  • Contests: yes (see website)
  • ISSN: 0011-0841
  • Founded: 1960
  • Issues Per Year: 2

Publisher’s Description: Work from recent issues of Crazyhorse has been selected for reprint in several anthologies. Michael Kardos’s story, “Animals,” won a Pushcart Prize in 2014 and Ben Fowlkes’s “You’ll Apologize If You Have To” will appear in Best American Short Stories 2015. Amaud Jamaul Johnson’s “L.A. Police Chief Daryl Gates Dead at 83” appeared in Best American Poetry 2014 and Gabriella R. Tallmadge’s “Marriage An Animal Language,” appeared in Best New Poets 2014.

Since 1960, Crazyhorse has published John Updike, Raymond Carver, John Ashbery, Robert Bly, Ha Jin, Ai, James Wright, Dinty W. Moore, Charles Simic, Lynda Hull, Charles Wright, and Billy Collins. Past authors have been reprinted in a variety of anthologies, and have been awarded the O. Henry Prize, Pulitzer Prizes, the National Book Award, and NEA and Guggenheim fellowships.

From January 1 to January 31, Crazyhorse accepts entries for the Crazyhorse Fiction Prize, the Crazyhorse Nonfiction Prize, and the Lynda Hull Memorial Poetry Prize. The winners in each genre receive a $2,000 prize and publication in Crazyhorse. Entries for the Crazyshorts! Short-Short Fiction Contest are accepted from July 1 to July 31. The winner receives $1,000 and publication; three runners-up are announced. For more details, visit our website.