is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Published April 11, 2011
NAP is an online quarterly publication of poetry and fiction available free on Issuu and for a cheap 99
Published April 12, 2011
Reading the World is an ongoing series of podcast discussions about the world of international literature, hosted by Chad W. Post (director of Open Letter Books) and Erica Mena (Spanish translator and poet). The programs include interview translators, publishers and writers and cover a range of translation-related issues. The first eight episodes feature Mark Schafer, Fady Joudah, Forrest Gander, Bill Johnston, Esther Allen, Suzanne Jill Levine, Susan Harris, and Lawrence Venuti.
Published April 13, 2011
Habitus: A Diaspora Journal has created its first digital publication — a collection of some of the best writing from their first six print issues. Readers can purchase a copy as a DRM-free ePub, readable on the device of your choice supporting that format, or visit Amazon to get a copy formatted for Kindles. An iPad edition should be available soon in the iBookstore.
Published April 05, 2011
Newly added to the NewPages Guide to Literary Podcasts, Video, Audio:

Edward Champion's The Bat Segundo Show is a cultural and literary podcast that involves very thorough long-form interviews with contemporary authors and other assorted artists. Standard questions that have been asked of guests over and over are avoided, whenever possible. The show is updated (ideally) every week and sometimes every two weeks. There are at least five podcasts unveiled to the listening public every month and, more often than not, considerably more. Currently, there are nearly 400 shows available, with a full index of guests.
Published April 05, 2011
New Orleans Review has announced the 2010 Walker Percy Fiction Contest winner, runner-up, honorable mentions, and finalists. The final judge was Nancy Lemann. The winning story and the runner-up will be published in the next print issue of the New Orleans Review.

Winner: “Prisoners of the Multiverse,” Jacob Appel

Runner-up: “War Story,” Austin Wilson

Honorable Mention: “The Junior Embalmer,” Jane Stark; “Goat Pharmacy,” Robert Glick; “What We Do,” Cassie Condrey

See website for full list of finalists.
Published April 05, 2011
32 Poems will feature five book recommendations (or an interview with a poet) for each day in April. Their goal is to share favorite poetry books with people and to promote the work of the recommending poet. Below is the month's schedule thus far:

April 1: John Poch
April 2: Jonterri Gadson
April 3: Eric Weinstein
April 4: M.E. Silverman
April 5: Arielle Greenberg
April 6: Lucy Biederman
April 7: Eric Pankey
April 8: Deborah Ager
April 9: Collin Kelley
April 10: Jennifer Atkinson
April 11: Luke Johnson
April 11: Interview with Terri Witek
April 12: Holly Karapetkova
April 13: TBD
April 15: Carolina Ebeid
April 16: M. Scott Douglass
April 17: Adam Vines
April 18: Elizabeth J. Coleman
April 19: Bernadette Geyer
April 20: Sally Molini
April 21: Interview with Jeffery L. Bahr
April 21: Kelli Russell Agodon
April 22: Jeannine Hall Gailey
April 23: George David Clark
April 24: Rachel Zucker
April 25: Lisa Russ Spaar
April 26-on TBD
Published April 06, 2011
Freedom in Harmony is Poetry Kanto editor Alan Botsford's blog "inspired by, but not limited to, events still unfolding in Japan."
Published April 06, 2011
Michigan Quarterly Review has announced the winners of its 2010 literary awards:

Lawrence Foundation Prize

Shimon Tanaka has been awarded the Lawrence Foundation Prize for 2010. The prize is awarded annually by the Editorial Board of MQR to the author of the best short story published that year in the journal. Tanaka’s story, “Destruction Bay,” appeared in the Fall 2010 issue. The prize carries a cash award of $1000.

Laurence Goldstein Poetry Prize

Albert Goldbarth is the recipient of the 2010 Laurence Goldstein Poetry Prize, which is awarded annually to the author of the best poem appearing that year in the Michigan Quarterly Review. His poem “Our Argument, like the Thunderstorm” appeared as part of a sequence of poems in the Winter 2010 issue.

Page Davidson Clayton Prize for Emerging Poets

Eric Lee is the second recipient of the new Page Davidson Clayton Prize for Emerging Poets, which is awarded annually to the best poet appearing in MQR who has not yet published a book. The award, which is determined by the MQR editors, is in the amount of $500. Eric Lee's poems “Getting Kicked out of Steamers Restaurant in Fairhope, Alabama” and “Kangaroo or Lion?” were published in the Summer 2010.
Published April 07, 2011
Heather Sappenfield of Vail, Colorado, has been selected as winner of the fifth annual Danahy Fiction Prize by the editors of Tampa Review. She will receive a cash award of $1,000 and her winning short story, “Indian Prayer,” will be published in Tampa Review 42, forthcoming in summer 2011.

The Danahy Fiction Prize is open to both new and widely published writers, with an annual postmark deadline of November 1. The $15 entry fee includes a one-year subscription to Tampa Review, and all entries submitted are considered for publication.
Published April 08, 2011
nanomajority is interested in the various ways in which artists, writers, and critics intersect (or don't), inviting "residents" to work on a project on the site for an extended period of time. In this way, nanomajority hopes to provide a flexible, unique space for projects to develop.

nanomajority has been featuring the women of ART364B in separate monthly installments. Current projects include works by Melissa Potter, Kate Clark, Jennifer Musawwir, Miriam Schaer, Marietta Davis, and Adriana Corona.

We welcome any/all Feedback.