is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

The FiddleHead's 23rd Annual Literary Contest

Published May 05, 2014 Posted by
The new (Spring 2014) issue of The Fiddlehead features the winners of its 23rd Annual Literary Contest:

Ralph Gustafson Poetry Prize:
Kayla Czaga, "That Great Burgundy-Upholstered Beacon of Dependability"

Poetry Honourable Mentions:
Kyeren Regehr, "Dorm Room 214"
Maureen Hynes, "Stone Sonnet"

Short Ficiton First Prize:
Myler Wilkinson, "The Blood of Slaves"

Fiction Honourable Mention:
Jill Widner, "When Stars Fell Like Salt Before the Revolution"
Wayde Compton, "The Front: A Selected Reverse-Chronological Annotated Bibliography of the Vancouver Art Movement Known as 'Rentalism,' 2011-1984"

We welcome any/all Feedback.