NewPages.com is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

NewPages Book Reviews

Reviews of newly published and forthcoming independent and university press titles.

Posted February 05, 2018

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Nonfiction
  • by Patricia Vigderman
  • Date Published January 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-0-8142-5458-5
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 200pp
  • Price $21.95
  • Review by Valerie Wieland

Patricia Vigderman’s book, The Real Life of the Parthenon, appealed to me because, like her, I’d walked up to the Acropolis in Athens, Greece. My walk was during a honeymoon, hers—for the most part—were more empirical.

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Fiction
  • by Jacob M. Appel
  • Date Published February 2018
  • ISBN-13 978-1-946684-04-2
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 180pp
  • Price $18.99
  • Review by MacKenzie Hamilton

The Amazing Mr. Morality is a collection that dives head first into the shallow end of a pool full of ethical dilemmas. Jacob M. Appel creates wild worlds just inches beyond reality, but still close enough to the real deal that you can absolutely imagine them coming true. The writing is sharp, the characters are witty, and the stories are original.

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Fiction
  • by Eleanor Lerman
  • Date Published July 2017
  • ISBN-13 978-1-936419-73-9
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 306pp
  • Price $18.95
  • Review by Valerie Wieland

Eleanor Lerman began her writing career at twenty-one as a poet, branching out over the years into short stories and novels while winning prizes along the way. Her latest book is a suspense-filled science fiction novel called The Stargazer’s Embassy.

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Poetry
  • by Jenny Molberg
  • Date Published February 2017
  • ISBN-13 978-1-936797-92-9
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 78pp
  • Price $16.95
  • Review by DM O'Connor

"Another endangered syntax descends." —from “Echolocations”

If ex-poet-laureate Billy Collins is correct in saying that poetry is “everyday moments caught in time,” then Jenny Molberg’s debut collection The Marvels of the Invisible, winner of 2014 Berkshire Prize, is exemplar. As if flipping through a family album, Molberg covers a personal history from birth to death, hospital and bible, family and landscape, hope and redemption.

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Fiction
  • by Susan Jackson Rodgers
  • Date Published August 2017
  • ISBN-13 978-0-87580-768-3
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 180pp
  • Price $16.95
  • Review by Jordana Landsman

At times in life, we dive in, ready for action. At other times, often in transitional phases, we hang back and observe, browsing through possible lives and paths we might pursue.

newpages-footer-logo

We welcome any/all Feedback.