NewPages.com is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

NewPages Book Reviews

Reviews of newly published and forthcoming independent and university press titles.

Posted October 09, 2017

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Poetry
  • by J. Hope Stein
  • Date Published February 2017
  • ISBN-13 978-0-9982666-1-9
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 37pp
  • Price $15.00
  • Review by Cheyanne Gustason

Picking up Occasionally, I Remove Your Brain Through Your Nose for the first time, I was immediately surprised. The title alone is enough to catch the eye and make you wonder: What does it mean? How serious can this be? How literal?

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Nonfiction
  • by Bri McKoy
  • Date Published September 2017
  • ISBN-13 978-0718090616
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 240pp
  • Price $16.99
  • Review by Scott Russell Morris

I was really excited to read Bri McKoy’s Come & Eat, because as a Christian who loves to eat and feed other people, a whole book about using your table as a way to “celebrate . . . love and grace” seemed like just the sort of thing I wanted.

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Nonfiction
  • by Kathryn Nuernberger
  • Date Published July 2017
  • ISBN-13 978-0-8142-5409-7
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 100pp
  • Price $19.95
  • Review by Valerie Wieland

Years ago, a hot air balloon landed directly outside my house. I don’t remember the circumstances, but the resulting fascination with them has never left me, so I was delighted to read Kathryn Nuernberger’s opening essays in Brief Interviews with the Romantic Past about ballooning’s forgotten women.

  • Subtitle A Graphic Revolution
  • Image Image
  • Book Type Graphic Memoir
  • by Julia Alekseyeva
  • Date Published January 2017
  • ISBN-13 978-1-62106-969-0
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 192pp
  • Price $14.95
  • Review by Valerie Wieland

On August 11, Lola met Kyril, the self-professed love of her life. He proposed on the 15th, moved in on the 17th, and they married. This could be a modern love story, except it took place in the late 1930s in Eastern Europe when Joseph Stalin and Adolph Hitler were tossing lives into disarray. The story of Lola and Kyril is just one episode in Julia Alekseyeva’s richly-illustrated memoir Soviet Daughter: A Graphic Revolution.

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Fiction
  • by Jennifer Caloyeras
  • Date Published October 2017
  • ISBN-13 978-1-943665-78-5
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 180pp
  • Price $17.99
  • Review by MacKenzie Hamilton

Unruly Creatures is aptly named, and it is as unusual and wild as the title forebears. Jennifer Caloyeras colors outside the lines in in this collection. The stories are at once beautiful and tragic, comedic and full of sorrow, as well as strange and telling. Each story is wildly original, and seamlessly comments on current events. Caloyeras’s talent shines through the pages of this collection, latching on to the reader and refusing to be put down.

  • Image Image
  • Book Type Fiction
  • by Steven Gillis
  • Date Published October 2017
  • ISBN-13 978-1945572-47-0
  • Format Paperback
  • Pages 205pp
  • Price $24.00
  • Review by MacKenzie Hamilton

Are you happy? What is the source of your happiness? Would you say it’s love? Steven Gillis provides us with a few different answers to these questions in his new novel Liars. His characters find themselves either concretely sure of themselves, or questioning everything they know in this thrilling, somber story of a man trying to understand love.

newpages-footer-logo

We welcome any/all Feedback.