is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Published July 15, 2009
Tupelo Press has announced Judge Aimee Nezhukumatathil's selections for the Snowbound 2008-2009 Chapbook Contest:

If St. Augustine Were a Butcher Like My Grandfather
by Brandon Som.

The Rafters of David by Kimberly Burwick was runner-up.

Finalists: J. David Cummings, Jennifer Kwon Dobbs, Barbara Duffy, Eileen G'Sell, Susan Gubernaut, Steven Lautermilch, Mary Leader, Mary Molinary, John Surowiecki, Jonathan Weinert.

July is Open Submissions month at Tupelo.
Published July 14, 2009
This Spring 2009 issue of Open Minds Quarterly includes the winners of the 7th Annual BrainStorm Poetry Contest for mental health consumers and survivors. Forty finalists were selected from 594 entrants, with the following results:

First Place - Jennifer Footman
Second Place - Tracy King
Third Place - Ky Perraum

Honorable mentions went to Tracy King, David O'Neal, Michael Conner, Diane Klammer, Benjamin Hawkes, and Ky Perraum.

Open Minds Quarterly is a publication of The Writer's Circle, a project of NISA/Northern Initiative for Social Action (Ontario). "NISA is built on the premise that consumer/survivors of mental health services are intelligent, creative, and can makea valuable contribution to society if given the opportunity to do so."
Published July 09, 2009
Jennifer K. Sweeney is the winner of the 2009 Perugia Press Prize: "Perugia Press publishes one collection of poetry each year, by a woman at the beginning of her publishing career. Our mission is to produce beautiful books that interest long-time readers of poetry and welcome those new to poetry. We also aim to celebrate and promote poetry whenever we can."

Sweeney's book, How to Live on Bread and Music, along with sample poems from the collection, is available on the Perugia Press website.
Published June 29, 2009
White Space by Janet Burroway

“HIS WRIST IS furred in gold and banded with a, Jesus, Rolex. From the sidewalk it was any other clapboard student digs, but now I remember that he comes from bucks, does Goldenhair. Kenilworth Adamson Lowenthal. What kind of parents pick three dactyls for a name?”

New Year’s Weekend on the Hand Surgery Ward, Old Pilgrims’ Hospital, Naples, Italy by Adam Atlas

“WHEN THE AMBULANCE guys finally came, they were put out and winded. They asked me if I had a plastic bag for the piece of thumb and they watched with their arms folded while I stumbled around and found them a plastic bag.”

That Ain’t Jazz by David Bradley

“COUSIN BERNARD AGREES that I’m trouble, with a capital T. The family buzz is, I'm destined for college. If I don’t get with it now, he says, I’ll end up with some intellectual gig and be swallowed by the Negro Bourgeoisie.”


Upcoming Contests:

The FIRST ANNUAL POETRY CONTEST, with $3,300 in prizes.
Entry deadline: July 18.

The SPRING 2009 STORY CONTEST, with $6,500 in prizes.
Entry deadline: July 31.
Published June 29, 2009
The Summer 2009 issue of American Short Story (v12 i44) includes "Mask of Destiny" by Karen Gentry winner of the annual American Short Fiction contest. Second place went to Robert Glick.
Published June 26, 2009
Glimmer Train has just chosen the winning stories for their April Family Matters competition.  This competition is held twice a year and is open to all writers for stories about family, with a word count range 500-12,000.  Monthly submission calendar may be viewed here.

First place:  Randolph Thomas of Baton Rouge, LA, wins $1200 for “According to Foxfire”.  His story will be published in the Fall 2010 issue of Glimmer Train Stories, out in August 2010.

Second place:  Amy S. Gottfried of Thurmont, MD, wins $500 for “Chim Chiminy”.  Her story will also be published in an upcoming issue of Glimmer Train Stories, increasing her prize to $700.

Third place:  Abe Gaustad of Germantown, TN, wins $300 for “A Month of Rain”.

A PDF of the Top 25 winners can be found here.

Deadlines approaching!

Fiction Open:  June 30
This quarterly competition is open to all writers for stories on any theme, with a word count range of 2000-20,000.  Click here for complete guidelines.

Best Start:  June 30
This new category is different from their others in that the piece should be an engaging and coherent narrative, but it does not need to be a complete story; it needs to be an important part of a story in progress.  Only open to writers whose fiction has not appeared in a nationally distributed print publication with a circulation over 3000.  Maximum word count:  1000.  Click here for complete guidelines.
Published June 24, 2009
The most recent issue of Western Humanities Review (Summer 2009) includes works by the winners of the 16th Annual Utah Writers' Contest. First prize in prose went to Matthew Kirkpatrick for "Different Distances"; first prize in poetry went to Christine Marshall for "Fits of White" (though she has several other poems published in this issue and not the one named in the contest).
Published June 23, 2009
Teresa Stores was selected by Tayari Jones as Kore Press Short Fiction Winner 2010 for her story "Frost Heaves." She is the author of three novels and her work has appeared in numerous literary journals. Stores is an associate professor of English at the University of Hartford.

The runners-up are Margaret Cardillo with "Hysterical," and Patricia Engel with "The Bridge."
Published June 22, 2009
More than fifty short-story collections have appeared in the Flannery O'Connor Award series, which was established to encourage gifted emerging writers by bringing their work to a national readership. The first prize-winning book was published in 1983; the award has since become an important proving ground for writers and a showcase for the talent and promise that have brought about a resurgence in the short story as a genre. Winners are selected through an annual competition that attracts as many as three hundred manuscripts. Winners for 2009 whose works will be published this fall are: Geoffrey Becker for Black Elvis and Lori Ostlund for The Bigness of the World.
Published June 19, 2009
The sixth annual storySouth Million Writers Award is now closed. The winners, based on the popular vote of readers, are:

First place: "The Fisherman's Wife" by Jenny Williams (LitNImage)
Runner-up: "Fuckbuddy" by Roderic Crooks (Eyeshot)
Honorable mention (third place): "No Bullets in the House" by Geronimo Madrid (Drunken Boat)

We welcome any/all Feedback.