is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Published December 04, 2009
A Room of Her Own Foundation's 1st To the Lighthouse Poetry Publication Prize Winner was Genevieve Kaplan's manuscript, In the Icehouse. Her book of poetry will be published by Red Hen Press in the fall of 2010.

2nd Annual To the Lighthouse Poetry Publication Prize
Postmark Deadline: August 31, 2010
Judge: Alice Quinn

Fall 2009 Orlando Prize Winners

Orlando Poetry Prize Winner
Mary Ellen Sanger, "Secrets of a Wooden Saint in a Church in Jalcomulco"

Orlando Nonfiction Prize Winner
Patricia Henritze, "Learning to Talk"

Orlando Sudden Fiction Prize Winner
Alyssa Cooper, "Tin Man Tick-Tock"

Orlando Short Fiction Prize Winner
Lyn Hawks, "The Flat and Weightless Tang-Filled Future"

Orlando in 2010, New Deadlines and Information
Orlando Nonfiction & Short Fiction Deadline — 1/31/10
Orlando Poetry & Sudden Fiction Deadline — 2/28/10
New dates and online forms will be available the week of 11/16/09
Published December 03, 2009
The newest issue of Open Minds Quarterly includes poems from the honorable mentions from their seventh annual BrainStorm Poetry Contest: Tracy King, David O'Neal, Michale Conner, Diane Klammer, Benjamin Hawkes, and ky perraun. Open Minds Quaterly is a publication of The Writer's Circle, a project of Northern Initiative for Social Action. NISA is "built on the premise that consumer/survivors of mental health services are intelligent, creative, and can make a valuable contribution to society if given the opportunity to do so."
Published November 30, 2009
Every year, Fifth Wednesday Journal reviews the work of contributing artists to make selections for the Editor's Prize in short fiction, poetry, and photography. The fall 2009 issue includes the editors comments on their selections. This year, Ann Leahy selected the work of Ray Gonzalez ("Canto" fall 2008), with a special note of recognition to Rebecca B. Rank and Mary Biddinger. Andrew Coburn's fiction ("Hearty Women" spring 2009) was selected by Keith Gandal, and Barbara DeGenevieve selected the photography of Harry Wilson ("Classroom Turkey" fall 2008), with an honorable mention to Leigh Wells.
Published November 27, 2009
Leslie Maslow of Brooklyn, New York is Open City's 2009 RRofihe Trophy Short Story Contest winner for her story "Mum" - which will appear in Open City #28.

Corey Campbell
Avi Kramer
Adam Gallari
Amy Halloran
Nick Kocz
Renee Hahn

Guidelines for the 2010 RRofihe Trophy For an unpublished short story (up to 5,000), judged by Rick Rofihe. Deadline October 15, 2010.
Published November 23, 2009
Narrative Magazine has announced the winners of their first annual poetry contest:

Alice Jones, First Place
Anne Marie Rooney, Second Place
Tomas Q. Morin, Third Place

Mermer Blakeslee
Scott Chellener
Peter Filkins
Luisa A. Igloria
Shane Lake
Published November 18, 2009
Glimmer Train has just chosen the winning stories for their September Fiction Open competition. This competition is held quarterly and is open to all writers for stories with a word count range between 2000-20,000. No theme restrictions. The next Fiction Open competition will take place in December. Glimmer Train’s monthly submission calendar may be viewed here.

First place: Carrie Brown [pictured] of Sweet Briar, VA, wins $2000 for “Bomb.” Her story will be published in the Fall 2010 issue of Glimmer Train Stories, out in August 2010.

Second place: Ken Barris of Cape Town, South Africa, wins $1000 for “Life Underwater.” His story will also be published in an upcoming issue of Glimmer Train Stories.

Third place: Lydia Fitzpatrick of Brooklyn NY, wins $600 for “Ellijay.”

A PDF of the Top 25 winners can be found here.

Glimmer Train has also selected the 50 winning entries for their Best Start competition. Each wins $50 and makes Glimmer Train’s Best Start list.

Deadline soon approaching!

November Short Story Award for New Writers: November 30

This competition is held quarterly and is open to writers whose fiction has not appeared in a print publication with a circulation over 5000. No theme restrictions. Word count should not exceed 12,000. (All shorter lengths welcome.) Click here for complete guidelines.
Published November 17, 2009
The theme for issue 80 of River Styx is "Games" - which broadly interpreted includes works about "soccer games, hoop games, board games, card games, kid games, bedroom games, carnival games, even wild game." As Editor Richard Newman introduces the issue: "The best games, as well as the best writing about games, always enact something larger than the actual game."

Also included in this issue are the works by winners of the 2009 River Styx International Poetry Contest, as selected by Stephen Dunn: Michael Derrick Hudson, Michale J. Grabell, and J. Stephen Rhodes.
Published November 02, 2009
The Fall 2009 issue of The Kenyon Review features works by the 2009 Patricia Grodd Poetry Prize for Young Writers winner Felicity Sheehy and Runners Up Arbil Lopez and Haley Markbreiter as well as the winning story by Alexandra Zobel for the 2009 Kenyon Review for Short Fiction Prize.
Published October 29, 2009
The Autumn 2009 issue of Bitter Oleander Review (v15 n2), in addition to a special focus on Elizabeth McLagan with an interview and selection of her poetry, also features the Frances Locke Memorial Poetry Award Winner for 2009: Rich Ives.
Published October 28, 2009
The Fall/Winter 2009 issue of Nimrod International Journal from the University of Tulsa is titled "Words at Play" and features works by the 31st Annual Award Winners and Finalists for Poetry and Fiction:

The Pablo Neruda Prize in Poetry
First: Mike Nelson, “Acacia”
Second: Alicia Case, “Ascension” and other poems
HM: Natalie Diaz, “The Elephants” and other poems

The Katherine Anne Porter Prize in Fiction
Fisrt: $2,000: Lacey Jane Henson, “Trigger”
Second: $1,000: Margaret Kaufman, “Live Saving Lessons”
HM: Patricia Grace King, “Dogs in Guatemala” and Laura Hulthén Thomas, “Down to the Last Kopek”

We welcome any/all Feedback.