is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Published April 05, 2010
Richard P. Krepski's prose contest winning essay "Center of the Universe" is published in the newest issue of Tiferet: A Journal of Spiritual Literature (Issue 13). "It is based on a chapter in Mr. Krepski's forthcoming book, Alchemical Gold - Exploring Substance to Realize Spirit, targeted for publication later in 2010."
Published April 01, 2010
The Alimentum Poetry Contest winning poems will be featured in the Summer 2010 issue. As selected by Contest Final Judge Dorianne Laux:

Winner "Substitutes" by Maya Stein
1st Runner-up "Before I tell him I am leaving" by Salita S. Bryant
2nd Runner-up "Water of Life" by Catherine Freeling

Our Poetry Contest Finalists:
"Rabanada" by Margaret K. Menges
"Cutlet" by Rhona McAdam
"Soup and Bread" by Mary McGinnis
"Ropa Vieja" & "Wine" by Ricardo Pau-Llosa
Published March 29, 2010
Bloodroot Literary Magazine Volume 3 (2010) features works by the winners and honorable mentions of their 2010 contest:

First Prize: David Sullivan - "Angel Jibril, the Messenger"
Second Prize: Danny Dover - "Yukon Territory"
Third Prize: Regina Murray Brault - "Genealogy"

Honorable Mentions (in alphabetical order)
Scott Atkins - "Arrival"
Eileen Malone - "What's All This Crap About Closure?"
Ivy Schweitzer - "Elegy for a Miniskirt (Fawn, Suede)"
Published March 19, 2010
The Allegheny Review, publishing undergraduate poetry, artwork and prose since 1983, established the Allegheny Review awards in poetry and prose eight years ago. Mark Doty selected Jacques Rancourt (University of Maine) to receive this year's poetry award, and Paul Lisicky selected prose winner Marilyn Miller (University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown). Both winning authors' works can be found in the newest edition of The Allegheny Review (v27) along with honorable mention poet Jes Gearing (Emory University).
Published March 12, 2010
The Winter 2010 issue of The MacGuffin from Schoolcraft College includes the 14th National Poet Hunt Winner, Helen Marie Casey as well as honorable mention, Carol Gilbertson, as selected by Poet Hunt Judge Thomas Lynch.
Published March 11, 2010
Just in: The Spoon River Review Summer/Fall 2009 issue features the The Spoon River Poetry Review’s Editors’ Prize as judged by Claudia Emerson: First Place Rebecca Warren; Runner-up Hanna Marta Norris and Stephanie Coyne DeGhett; and Honorable Mention: Michael Meyerhofer, Lusia Slomkowska, Jared Walls, Rebecca Warren, and Jeff Miles.
Published March 04, 2010
Winner of the 2010 Perugia Press Prize for a first or second book of poetry by a woman is Each Crumbling House by Melody S. Gee of St. Louis, Missouri. Each Crumbling House is due to be released in September 2010.

The Perugia Press Prize is given annually for a first or second unpublished poetry collection by a woman. The prize is $1000 and publication by Perugia Press.

Finalists: Susanna Childress, Entering the House of Awe; Danielle Cadena Deulen, Lovely Asunder

Semi-Finalists: Shannon Amidon, The Garden After; Joanne Diaz, Violin; Emari DiGiorgio, Hot Bullets; Mary Kaiser, The Paradiso Shuffle; Christina Lovin, A Stirring in the Dark; Beth M. Martinelli, A Quiet Room; Barbara Paparazzo, The Corridor of Lost Steps; Anna Ross, In the Room Next Door; Bethany Schultz Hurst, Birds, Disappearing; Joan I. Siegel, Soundings; Eva Skrande, My Mother’s Cuba; Annette Spaulding-Convy, In Broken Latin
Published March 03, 2010
The most recent issue of Water~Stone Review includes the winner of this year's Jane Kenyon Poetry Prize: "Four Corners" by Michelle Bonzcek. Also included in the issue are two poems selected for honorable mention: Myron Ernst's "Beyond the Green Line" and Brett Foster's "Sponge Bath as Answer to the Problem of Knowledge." Marck McMorris was the judge for this year's prize.
Published March 02, 2010
The Iowa Review has announced the 2009 Short Fiction Award Winner, "All That Work and Still No Boys" by Kathryn Ma, and the 2009 John Simmons Short Fiction Award winner, "How to Leave Hialeah" by Jennine Cap
Published March 01, 2010
The newest edition of Carpe Articulum features winners of the Carpe Verbum Novella/Long Short Fiction Contest:

First - Carol Howell
Second - Aashish Kaul
Third - Eric Wasserman
In Curso Honorum - Lisa Ni Bhraonain
Honorable Mentions: Paul Fahey, Brian Duggan, Chellis Glendinning, and Loree Westron

The editors write of the contest: "The Novella Award was a new addition to Carpe Articulum this year. Many nay-sayers thought that it wouldn't garner the attention it needed to sustain itself since the Carpe Verbum Short Fiction Award was already offered here. We are proud to announce that it has been the most cussedly attended award series in Carpe Articulum's seven-year history. We were heart-broken to leave out many of the incredible pieces that had so much to offer Carpe's reader...but then, this quarterly collector's volume would have been 700 pages long! We hope to encourage other Literary Reviews to likewise offer this particular genre as an award series. So many fascinating stories are ineligible for print in journals simple due to their length. Such a sad reason for them to never see the light of day..."

Deadlines for upcoming Carpe Articulum contests are outlined in this issue as well as on the publication's website.

We welcome any/all Feedback.