is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Published March 12, 2010
The Winter 2010 issue of The MacGuffin from Schoolcraft College includes the 14th National Poet Hunt Winner, Helen Marie Casey as well as honorable mention, Carol Gilbertson, as selected by Poet Hunt Judge Thomas Lynch.
Published March 11, 2010
Just in: The Spoon River Review Summer/Fall 2009 issue features the The Spoon River Poetry Review’s Editors’ Prize as judged by Claudia Emerson: First Place Rebecca Warren; Runner-up Hanna Marta Norris and Stephanie Coyne DeGhett; and Honorable Mention: Michael Meyerhofer, Lusia Slomkowska, Jared Walls, Rebecca Warren, and Jeff Miles.
Published March 04, 2010
Winner of the 2010 Perugia Press Prize for a first or second book of poetry by a woman is Each Crumbling House by Melody S. Gee of St. Louis, Missouri. Each Crumbling House is due to be released in September 2010.

The Perugia Press Prize is given annually for a first or second unpublished poetry collection by a woman. The prize is $1000 and publication by Perugia Press.

Finalists: Susanna Childress, Entering the House of Awe; Danielle Cadena Deulen, Lovely Asunder

Semi-Finalists: Shannon Amidon, The Garden After; Joanne Diaz, Violin; Emari DiGiorgio, Hot Bullets; Mary Kaiser, The Paradiso Shuffle; Christina Lovin, A Stirring in the Dark; Beth M. Martinelli, A Quiet Room; Barbara Paparazzo, The Corridor of Lost Steps; Anna Ross, In the Room Next Door; Bethany Schultz Hurst, Birds, Disappearing; Joan I. Siegel, Soundings; Eva Skrande, My Mother’s Cuba; Annette Spaulding-Convy, In Broken Latin
Published March 03, 2010
The most recent issue of Water~Stone Review includes the winner of this year's Jane Kenyon Poetry Prize: "Four Corners" by Michelle Bonzcek. Also included in the issue are two poems selected for honorable mention: Myron Ernst's "Beyond the Green Line" and Brett Foster's "Sponge Bath as Answer to the Problem of Knowledge." Marck McMorris was the judge for this year's prize.
Published March 02, 2010
The Iowa Review has announced the 2009 Short Fiction Award Winner, "All That Work and Still No Boys" by Kathryn Ma, and the 2009 John Simmons Short Fiction Award winner, "How to Leave Hialeah" by Jennine Cap
Published March 01, 2010
The newest edition of Carpe Articulum features winners of the Carpe Verbum Novella/Long Short Fiction Contest:

First - Carol Howell
Second - Aashish Kaul
Third - Eric Wasserman
In Curso Honorum - Lisa Ni Bhraonain
Honorable Mentions: Paul Fahey, Brian Duggan, Chellis Glendinning, and Loree Westron

The editors write of the contest: "The Novella Award was a new addition to Carpe Articulum this year. Many nay-sayers thought that it wouldn't garner the attention it needed to sustain itself since the Carpe Verbum Short Fiction Award was already offered here. We are proud to announce that it has been the most cussedly attended award series in Carpe Articulum's seven-year history. We were heart-broken to leave out many of the incredible pieces that had so much to offer Carpe's reader...but then, this quarterly collector's volume would have been 700 pages long! We hope to encourage other Literary Reviews to likewise offer this particular genre as an award series. So many fascinating stories are ineligible for print in journals simple due to their length. Such a sad reason for them to never see the light of day..."

Deadlines for upcoming Carpe Articulum contests are outlined in this issue as well as on the publication's website.
Published February 23, 2010
The 2009 Fall Black River Chapbook Competition winner is Lisa Fay Coutley for In The Carnival of Breathing, which will be published by Black Lawrence Press in the summer of 2011.

Amelia Cohen-Levy – More People than Trees
Christine Klocek-Lim – The Quantum Archives
Darren Morris – Grand Unified Theory
Edward Mullany – A New Russia
Jennifer Michalski – Go to War, Stanley Polensky
Kelly Magee – A Guide to Strange Places: Stories
Rachel Mehl – Letter to Amber in November
Stefanie Freele – Every Girl Has An Ex Named Steve
Susanna Williams – They Say We Don’t Exist
Tracy Geary - Sting
William Snyder – Voices

Andrew R. Touhy – Designs for a Magician’s Top Hat
Benjamin Vogt – Without Such Absence
Megan Garr – The Preservationist Documents
Stephanie Gehring – Foghorn Call
David Salner – Summer Words
Alison Pelegrin – Hurricane Party
Benjamin Hollars – Some kind of memorial
Brad Davis – Self Portrait w/ Disposable Camera
Brian Trimboli and Megan Moriarty – Notes from a Zombie Apocolypse
Published February 22, 2010
The 2010 Georgetown Review Prize Winner is "Peace Comes to Those Who Wait" by Luke Fiskeand. Each year, GR selects one winning poem, story, or essay on any subject for a cash prize and publication. Runners-up also receive publication.
Published February 20, 2010
Glimmer Train has just chosen the winning stories for their December Fiction Open competition. This competition is held quarterly and is open to all writers for stories with a word count range between 2000-20,000. No theme restrictions. The next Fiction Open competition will take place in March. Glimmer Train’s monthly submission calendar may be viewed here.

First place: Stephanie Soileau (pictured), of San Francisco, CA, wins $2000 for “Chemiere Caminada.” Her story will be published in the Spring 2011 issue of Glimmer Train Stories, out in February 2011.

Second place: Diane Chang, of Chicago, IL, wins $1000 for “The Teacher and the Revolution.” Her story will also be published in an upcoming issue of Glimmer Train Stories.

Third place: Naama Goldstein, of Allston, MA, wins $600 for “Stronghold.”

A PDF of the Top 25 winners can be found here.

Deadline soon approaching! February Short Story Award for New Writers: February 28

This competition is held quarterly and is open to writers whose fiction has not appeared in a print publication with a circulation over 5000. No theme restrictions. Word count should not exceed 12,000. (All shorter lengths welcome.) Click here for complete guidelines.
Published February 20, 2010
The winner of the 2009 Anderbo Poetry Prize, judged by William Logan, is Nancy K. Pearson of Cape Cod, Massachusetts. Her poem, "Prairies," can be read here on

We welcome any/all Feedback.