is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Published May 10, 2010
Juked Issue 7 (Spring 2010) features the winners of the 2009 Juked Fiction Prize - Jill Widner and runner-up Dan Coshnear (selected by Dan Chaon), and the Poetry Prize - Joellen Craft and runners-up Ben Mirov and Chris Pexa (selected by Dora Malech).
Published May 03, 2010
Candace Pearson has been awarded the Briery Creek Press Liam Rector First Book Prize for Poetry for her manuscript Hour of Unfolding. Dos Passos Review features a dozen of her prize-winning poems in the most recent issue (6.2) Finalists for the prize were John Wilson and Melody Gee.
Published April 30, 2010
Quarter After Eight, volume 16, includes the winners of the 4th Annual Robert J. DeMott Prose Contest as judged by Catherine Taylor: Jendi Reiter, Homa Zaryouni, and Amy Writght.
Published April 29, 2010
Volume 8 of f Magazine: Novels in Progress and More announces the winners of their Short and Striking contest: Ryan Sinon (1st place)- whose story "Joseph and the Snowflake Woman" is included in the issue, Norton Girault (2nd prize), and Tom Heymann (3rd prize).
Published April 28, 2010
Flyway: A Journal of Writing and Environment Managing Editor Liz Clift writes: "Flyway begins its 16th year, we reflect on the meaning 'environment' takes on for different people. Traditionally, environmental writing refers to writing about nature, often as an advocate of the natural world. With this in mind, it's easy to view the manmade world as less important and thus deny it a place within the environmental literature canon. However, environmental writing now includes urban and other manmade environments as legitimate components of modern human experience. This issue of Flyway explores both human and nonhuman environments, because we shape the environment that shapes us."

This issue also features winners of their "Home Voices" writing contest: Kathryn Sukalich (1st place), Kimberly L. Rogers and Rachael Button (honorable mentions), and their "Notes from the Field" writing contest: Cassandra Kircher (1st place) and Gabriel Houck (finalist).
Published April 28, 2010
Manhattanville College's Inkwell Spring 2010 features a number of winners of their 2010 competition:

Poetry Winner: Starkey Flythe
Honorable Mention: Jim Knowles
Notable Finalists: Phillis Levin, Rachel Michaud, Dan Preniszni, Alinda Wasner (Fall 2010)

Fiction Winner: Aram Kim
Honorable Mention: E. B. Moore
Notable Finalists: Joan Corwin (Fall 2010), Starkey Flythe (Fall 2010), Daniel Austin Warren

Elizabeth McCormack Master of Arts in Writing Poetry Winner: Kristina Bicher
Elizabeth McCormack Master of Arts in Writing Fiction Winner: Terry Dugan
Published April 27, 2010
Bellevue Literary Review, Spring 2010, features the 2010 BLR Prize Winners in this, the fifth year of the literary competition. Selected from over 900 submissions by judges Phillip Lopate, Tony Hoagland, and Gail Godwin, the Marcia and Jan Vilcek Prize for Poetry was awarded to Amanda Auchter, the winner of the Carter V. Cooper Memorial Prize for Nonfiction was awarded to Joan Kip (Mark Holden, Honorable Mention), and the winner of the Goldenberg Prize for Fiction was awarded to Larry Hill.
Published April 26, 2010
The spring 2010 issue of Ruminate (issue 15) features winners of the 2010 Short Story Prize, as judged by David James Duncan. First prize winner Shann Ray's story, "The Miracles of Vincent Van Gogh," and honorable mention Nels Hanson's story, "Now the River's In You," both appear in this issue. "Nothing to Fear," by Susann Childress received second prize, and publication will be forthcoming.
Published April 25, 2010

Glimmer Train has just chosen the winning stories for their Short Story Award for New Writers. This competition is held quarterly and is open to all writers whose fiction has not appeared in a print publication with a circulation greater than 5000. The next Short Story Award competition will take place in May. Glimmer Train’s monthly submission calendar may be viewed here.

First place: Selena Anderson [pictured], of New York, NY, wins $1200 for “Here Come the Brides.” Her story will be published in the Summer 2011 issue of Glimmer Train Stories.

Second place: Chase Dearinger, of Edmund, OK, wins $500 for “The Numbskull Piece.”

Third place: Brenna Burns, of New Haven, CT, wins $300 for “River Sans Prière.”

A PDF of the Top 25 winners can be found here.

Deadline soon approaching!

Family Matters: April 30

This competition is held twice a year and is open to all writers for stories about family. Word count should not exceed 12,000. (All shorter lengths welcome.) No theme restrictions. Click here for complete guidelines.

Published April 20, 2010
Heather Brittain Bergstrom's(Yuba City, CA) manuscript, "All Sorts of Hunger," was chosen out of 250 submissions by readers and final judge Leslie Marmon-Silko as the winner of the Kore Press 2010 Short Fiction Award. Finalists were: "Return," by Sharon May and "Mr. Smith's Tip-Top Tale of Woe and Horror," by Nancy Holyoke.

We welcome any/all Feedback.