is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Published June 08, 2010
Fiction Collective Two announced the results of its two book contests, the Catherine Doctorow Innovative Fiction Prize and the FC2 Ronald Sukenick/American Book Review Innovative Fiction Contest.

Tricia Bauer, of West Redding, Connecticut, was awarded the first annual FC2 Catherine Doctorow Innovative Fiction Prize for her novel Father Flashes. The prize includes publication by FC2, an imprint of University of Alabama Press, and $15,000. Melanie Rae Thon received special mention for her manuscript The Voice of the River. The judge was Carole Maso.

Sara Greenslit, of Madison, Wisconsin, has won this year’s FC2 Ronald Sukenick/American Book Review Innovative Fiction Contest for her novel As If a Bird Flew by Me. The prize includes publication by FC2 and $1000. Kathleen M. McLaughlin, for her manuscript Burn, and Erin M. Kautza, for her manuscript Expiration Dates of Various Creatures, were both cited for special mention. The judge was Susan Steinberg.

Through these contests, Fiction Collective Two aims to publish and promote the work of writers of fiction deemed experimental, innovative, or too challenging for contemporary commercial presses.

Writers with at least three published books of fiction (story collections or novels or a combination) are eligible for the Doctorow Prize. The next judge will be Ben Marcus.

The Sukenick Prize is open to any writer of English who is a citizen of the United States and who has not previously published with Fiction Collective Two. Its next judge will be Kate Bernheimer.

The submission period for both contests is 15 August to 1 November. Visit the website,, for further information and guidelines.
Published June 07, 2010
Les Figures Press has announced the winners of their Not Blessed A Little Story Contest in which writers remixed selections from Harold Abramowitz's recently released Not Blessed. Abramowitz also selected the winning entries.

Winner: Barbara Maloutas for "Her Not Blessed"

Runner-Ups (in no particular order):
"The first day of spring" by Erin Hinkes
"28 DAYS / (from Temporality) by Stephen Radcliffe
"Not Blessed, A Collaboration" by Soham Patel, Deborah Marie Poe & Gene Tanta

Les Figures will be posting these stories (one story per day) on the Les Figues blog: GIVE A FIG. The stories will also be archived as PDF's on their website.
Published June 02, 2010
Glimmer Train has just chosen the winning stories for their March Fiction Open competition. This competition is held quarterly and is open to all writers for stories with a word count range between 2000 – 20,000. The next Fiction Open will take place in June. Glimmer Train’s monthly submission calendar may be viewed here.

First place: John Stazinski [pictured], of Lancaster, MA, wins $2000 for “Bangor.” His story will be published in the Summer 2011 issue of Glimmer Train Stories.

Second place: Sean Padraic McCarthy, of Mansfield, MA, wins $1000 for “The Piper.” His story will also be published in an upcoming issue of Glimmer Train Stories.

Third place: Nick Yribar, of Ann Arbor, MI, wins $600 for “The Getaway Driver.” His story will also be published in an upcoming issue of Glimmer Train Stories, increasing his prize to $700.

A PDF of the Top 25 winners can be found here.

Deadline soon approaching!

Short Story Award for New Writers: May 31

This competition is held quarterly and is open to all writers whose fiction has not appeared in a print publication with a circulation over 5000. No theme restrictions. Word count should not exceed 12,000. (All shorter lengths welcome.) Click here for complete guidelines.

Published June 01, 2010
Crazyhorse has announced the winners of the The Crazyhorse Fiction Prize and The Lynda Hull Memorial Poetry Prize, each of which receive $2000 and publication in Crazyhorse (Number 78, November 2010):

Fiction judge: Aimee Bender

Fiction Winner: Marjorie Celona for the story “All Galaxies Moving”

Fiction finalists: Clifford Garstang, Jacob M. Appel, Lucy Ferriss, Nicolaus Aufdenkampe, Jamey Bradbury, Becky Margolis

Poetry judge: Larissa Szporluk

Poetry Winner: Juliet Patterson for the poem “Extinction Event”

Poetry finalists: Sam Witt, Andrew Demcak, Steven Kilpatrick, Paige Ackerson-Kiely, Sierra Nelson, Bianca Stone, Broc Rossell, Susan Sonde, Cecilia Woloch, Jay Peters, Patrick Haas
Published May 27, 2010
New Delta Review, Spring 2010, features winner of the 2010 Matt Clark Prize for Fiction, Jaime Poissant and finalistsSarah Domet, Kathy Flann, Karin C. Davidson, and Jim Ruland, and the winner for Poetry, Sharon Charde, with finalists Jared Walls. Also featured is the winner for the first Creative Nonfiction Contest, Bobbie Darbyshire, and finalist Jennifer Jean Nuernberg.
Published May 26, 2010
The 2010 volume (#6) of The Tusculum Review features two poems by Allison Joseph, the final judge of the Tusculum Review Poetry Prize, as well as works by Nancy K. Pearson who was selected as the winner of the prize. All poems Pearson entered into the contest—“It Was a Swell Fiesta,” “Left for Dead,” “Shift,” “Waiver,” “Eulogy,” & “Typeface Elegy” are published in this issue. TTR will be running a prose contest in 2011.
Published May 25, 2010
The Fiddlehead, Spring 2010 (#243) includes the nineteenth annual literary contest winners: Eliza Roberson for fiction with honorable mentions to Sara Heinonen and Susi Lovell; and Jeff Steudel for poetry with honorable mentions to Kim Trainor and Heidi Garnett.

The deadline for the 2010 contest is December 1, 2010, with $2010 going to each winner and $500 to each of two honorable mentions.
Published May 24, 2010
The Spring 2010 issue of The Malahat Review features works by the winners of the first annual Open Season Awards:

Lorri Neilsen Glenn, “You think of Meister Eckhart”

Tricia Dower, “Halloween 1955”

Creative Non-fiction
Melissa Jacques, “Call and Response”
Published May 20, 2010
FreeFall Magazine Spring/Summer 2010 includes works by the 2009 Prose and Poetry Contest Winners:

First Place: Marilyn Gear Pilling
Second Place: Barbara Parker
Third Place: David Willis
Honourable Mention: Katherine Fawcett

First Place: Rosemary Griebel
Second Place: Marilyn Gear Pilling
Third Place: George Amabile and Marjorie Bruhmuller
Honourable Mentions: Marilyn and Greg Simison
Published May 18, 2010
The newest Missouri Review (v33 n1) includes works by winners and finalists of the 2009 Jeffrey E. Smith Editors' Prize Contest: Fiction Winner Fiona McFarlane and finalists Diane Simmons and May-lee Chai; Poetry Winner Christina Hutchins and finalist Sarah Blackman; Nonfiction Winner Joseph Murtagh and finalists Jonathan Starke and Rachel Riederer. Other finalists whose works do not appear in this issue include Siobhan Fallon, Brian Brodeur, Jospeh Fasano, and David Bahr.

The 2010 Missouri Review Editor's Prize Contest is open for submissions until October 1, 2010.

We welcome any/all Feedback.