is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Published May 26, 2010
The 2010 volume (#6) of The Tusculum Review features two poems by Allison Joseph, the final judge of the Tusculum Review Poetry Prize, as well as works by Nancy K. Pearson who was selected as the winner of the prize. All poems Pearson entered into the contest—“It Was a Swell Fiesta,” “Left for Dead,” “Shift,” “Waiver,” “Eulogy,” & “Typeface Elegy” are published in this issue. TTR will be running a prose contest in 2011.
Published May 25, 2010
The Fiddlehead, Spring 2010 (#243) includes the nineteenth annual literary contest winners: Eliza Roberson for fiction with honorable mentions to Sara Heinonen and Susi Lovell; and Jeff Steudel for poetry with honorable mentions to Kim Trainor and Heidi Garnett.

The deadline for the 2010 contest is December 1, 2010, with $2010 going to each winner and $500 to each of two honorable mentions.
Published May 24, 2010
The Spring 2010 issue of The Malahat Review features works by the winners of the first annual Open Season Awards:

Lorri Neilsen Glenn, “You think of Meister Eckhart”

Tricia Dower, “Halloween 1955”

Creative Non-fiction
Melissa Jacques, “Call and Response”
Published May 20, 2010
FreeFall Magazine Spring/Summer 2010 includes works by the 2009 Prose and Poetry Contest Winners:

First Place: Marilyn Gear Pilling
Second Place: Barbara Parker
Third Place: David Willis
Honourable Mention: Katherine Fawcett

First Place: Rosemary Griebel
Second Place: Marilyn Gear Pilling
Third Place: George Amabile and Marjorie Bruhmuller
Honourable Mentions: Marilyn and Greg Simison
Published May 18, 2010
The newest Missouri Review (v33 n1) includes works by winners and finalists of the 2009 Jeffrey E. Smith Editors' Prize Contest: Fiction Winner Fiona McFarlane and finalists Diane Simmons and May-lee Chai; Poetry Winner Christina Hutchins and finalist Sarah Blackman; Nonfiction Winner Joseph Murtagh and finalists Jonathan Starke and Rachel Riederer. Other finalists whose works do not appear in this issue include Siobhan Fallon, Brian Brodeur, Jospeh Fasano, and David Bahr.

The 2010 Missouri Review Editor's Prize Contest is open for submissions until October 1, 2010.
Published May 17, 2010
American Literary Review celerbrates its 20th Anniversary with the Spring 2010 issue, which also features both the 2008 and 2009 contest winners:

Fiction Contest Winners
Marylee MacDonald, 2009
Michael Isaac Shokrian, 2008
(both stories are available full-text on ALR's website)

Poetry Contest Winners
Arthur Brown, 2009
Roy Bentley, 2008

Creative Nonfiction Winners
Julie Marie Wade, 2009
Karin Forfota Poklen, 2008
(both works are available full-text on ALR's website)
Published May 13, 2010
The Spring 2010 issue of Zone 3 includes the winning entries of the 2010 Zone 3 Poetry Awards: George Looney, first place, Tara Bray, second place and special mention, and Peter Ramos, third place.

Also featured is new fiction by Michael Martone, nonfiction by Ander Monson and interviews with each author.
Published May 12, 2010
Issue 33.1 of Room, appropriately themed "Competition," features the winners of the 2009 Room Contest:

1st Place: “The Glorious Mysteries” Audrey J. Whitson
2nd Place: “Ghosting” M.E. Powell
Honourable Mention: “Sisters” Kimberley Alcock (available on Room's website)

1st Place: “I told my first stranger I was pregnant” Jessica Hiemstra-van der Horst
2nd Place: “Funny Bone” Wenda Nairn
Honourable Mention: “The Virgin Mary is a Collapsed Umbrella” Julie Mahfood (available on Room's website)

Creative Non-Fiction1st Place: “April the Cruelest” Adrianne Kalfopoulou
2nd Place: “Why Wake Dayo?” Carla Hartenberger
Honourable Mention: “Behind the Glass” Ruth Morris Schneider (available on Room's website)

The 2010 contest is currently open for submissions until June 15.
Published May 11, 2010
The 2009 Donald Barthelme Prize for Short Prose winners are published in the newest issue of Gulf Coast (v22 i2): winner Matthew Yeager and honorable mentions Tracy Guzeman and Joseph Hold.
Published May 10, 2010
Juked Issue 7 (Spring 2010) features the winners of the 2009 Juked Fiction Prize - Jill Widner and runner-up Dan Coshnear (selected by Dan Chaon), and the Poetry Prize - Joellen Craft and runners-up Ben Mirov and Chris Pexa (selected by Dora Malech).

We welcome any/all Feedback.