is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Published November 03, 2015
business stephanie lenoxThe Colorado Prize for Poetry annually awards a $2000 honorarium and book publication to an author of a complete collection of poetry. This month, the 2015 winner will be published: The Business by Stephanie Lenox, chosen by Laura Kasischke.

From the publisher:
What does it meant to work in the age of the cubicle? The Business takes on the modern workplace with sharp-witted poems that sting like a paper cut. A former secretary, Stephanie Lenox positions herself as poetic note-taker of the mundane. . . . The collection transforms office politics and paper clips into a funny and critical emanation of the mortal rat race.
This is Lenox’s third collection of poetry, and her second prize winner (The Heart That Lies Outside the Body won the Slapering Hol Chapbook Competition in 2007). Copies of The Business are available for purchase at the website for The Center for Literary Publishing at Colorado State University.
Published October 28, 2015
king-of-the-gypsies-lenore-mykaBkMk Press annually holds their G. S. Sharat Chandra Prize for Short Fiction (currently open with a deadline in January), and this year’s winning title was just released at the end of September. King of the Gypsies by Lenore Myka was chosen by Lorraine M. López who writes of her selection, “Myka’s characters release uncountable fibers, connecting them to one another in the linked narratives, binding them to the harshly beguiling Romania they inhabit and that inhabits them.”

This is Myka’s first collection, though her work can be found in Massachusetts Review, Iowa Review, and New England Review, amongst others. To find out more information about King of the Gypsies, head over to the BkMk Press website.
Published October 06, 2015
translation-matthew-minicucciMatthew Minicucci’s Translation was published in August 2015, winner of the 2014 Stan and Tom Wick Poetry Prize from Kent State University Press. The Poetry Prize is awarded to a poet who has not previously published a full-length collection of poems.

Translation is the 21st book to be released through the Wick Poetry First Book Series and was chosen by Jane Hirschfield who calls Minicucci’s poems “accurate and deftly navigable vessels of inner life.”

More information about Translation can be found on the Kent State University website.
Published September 30, 2015
underdays-martin-ottThe Ernest Sandeen Prize in Poetry is sponsored by the Creative Writing Program at University of Notre Dame in conjunction with The University of Notre Dame Press. Awarded to authors who have published at least one volume of poetry, winners receive publication and a prize of $1000 dollars.

The 2015 winner was published last month: Underdays by Martin Ott.

From the publisher’s website: “Underdays is a dialogue of opposing forces: life/death, love/war, the personal/the political. Ott combines global concerns with personal ones, in conversation between poems or within them, to find meaning in his search for what drives us to love and hate each other.”

Ott’s work can be found in The Antioch Review, The Café Review, and Epoch, just to name a few.

To learn more about Underdays, check out the University of Notre Dame Press’s website.
Published September 24, 2015
rough-knowledge-christine-porebaLook forward to Christine Poreba’s Rough Knowledge, winner of the 2014 Philip Levine Prize in Poetry, currently scheduled to be published by Anhinga Press at the beginning of 2016. Rough Knowledge is Poreba’s first book and was chosen from nearly 700 manuscripts by Peter Everwine.

Everwine says of his selection:
[Poreba] has an eye for exact particulars and doesn’t stray from them, but her poems are so transparent, so quiet and intimate with the daily ambiguities and revelations of experience, that if you listen carefully you can almost believe the movement within her poems is like breathing: inward-containment, outward-space. I want such poetry close at hand.
To learn more about Rough Knowledge, check out Fresno State University’s website.
Published September 15, 2015
requiem-for-used-ignition-cap-j-scott-brownleeHalfway through November, Orison Books will release J. Scott Brownlee’s debut full-length poetry collection Requiem for Used Ignition Cap, winner of the 2015 Orison Poetry Prize.

From the editors: The poems in this collection explore the rural landscape and residents of Brownlee’s native Llano, Texas. Brownlee might be considered a natural mystic, refusing to settle for the simplistic ideological framewo0rk offered by his religious heritage, but rather finding in the particulars of place the vehicles of transcendence.”

Brownlee has been awarded $1,500, along with publication. His poems have appeared in The Kenyon Review, Hayden’s Ferry Review, West Branch, and more.

Find out more at Orison Books’s website.
Published August 26, 2015
cause-for-concern-carrie-shipersWinner of the 2014 Able Muse Book Award, Cause for Concern by Carrie Shipers is now available. From the publisher’s website: “Full of incisive meditations on frailties and fortitude often delivered with visceral honesty, Cause for Concern is spellbinding from start to finish.”

Order a print or digital copy of Cause for Concern from Able Muse’s website.
Published August 25, 2015
The Modern Dickens Project starts by posting an opening chapter online then invites other writers to continue the story by submitting the next chapter in the developing story month-by-month for the next twelve months, resulting in a thirteen chapter book. The curators behind this project are Chris Draper, Executive Director; Rachel Vogel, Managing Editor; Kali Van Baale, Editorial Advisor; Tracey Kelley and Murl Pace, Editorial Board.

Starting in 2011, the project posts a starting chapter by an established guest author, wetting the "tone and style of the following chapters." While supported by the Iowa Arts Council, submissions are open to all writers; however, the overall story "must be distinctively Iowan."

Submissions are due by the 21 of each month with the winning chapter selected and published online by the first of the next month to keep the story contributions going.

Previous Modern Dickens Project books are The Devil is Done Sinning, Defining Darrell, and Woman, Regardless. Each is available in paperback and kindle formats.
Published August 20, 2015
no-elegies-lindsay-wilsonNo Elegies by Lindsay Wilson, winner of the Quercus Review Press Spring Book Award 2014, was released this summer. Susan Deer Cloud, author of Hunger Moon, calls Wilson’s debut collection “pure metaphorical magic.”

No Elegies is now available for purchase on Amazon.
Published July 29, 2015
better-than-war-siamak-vossoughiSince 1983, the University of Georgia Press has annualy held their Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction, which, according to their website, “was established to encourage gifted emerging writers by bringing their work to a national readership.” Siamak Vossoughi’s winning collection Better Than War will be published in September 2015.

From the publisher’s description: “The stories in Better Than War encompass narratives from a diverse set of Iranian immigrants, many searching for a balance between memories of their homeland and their new American culture. [ . . . ] All Iranian immigrants, young or old, carry with them a vivid past in their contemporary life. Vossoughi’s Better Than War is about growing up, coming of age, and raising children in America while still remembering the importance of retaining Iranian pride.”

Preorder your copy of Better Than War at the University of Georgia Press website.


We welcome any/all Feedback.