is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.

Books :: 2015 Permafrost Prize Series Award

Published May 19, 2016 Posted by

scavengers becky hagenstonBecky Hagenston brought home the 2015 Permafrost Prize Series Award with her story collection Scavengers, chosen from nearly 150 entries. As the winner, Hagenston saw her collection (her third) published by the University of Alaska Press this year in both paperback and digital editions.

From the publisher’s website:

These are the people and situations—where the familiar and bizarre intermix—that animate Becky Hagenston’s stories in Scavengers. From Mississippi to Arizona to Russia, characters find themselves faced with a choice: make sense of the past, or run from it. But Hagenston reminds us that even running can never be pure—so which parts of your past do you decide to hold on to?

An unforgettable read, Scavengers is now available.


We welcome any/all Feedback.